1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can a OCZ StealthXtream 600w power this system?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nick259, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    Q6600 @ 3-3.6GHz
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3
    4x1gb Corsair 2GB DDR2 XMS2-6400
    GTX280
    OCZ StealthXStream 600W
    Samsung SATA DVD RW
    Seagate 7200.10 400gb HDD
     
  2. X-Terminator

    X-Terminator New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    120 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Yes with about 100 watts left over
     
  3. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
  4. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Yeah, the ocz seems fine it has 4x18amp rails and your gfx card along with system only requires 40 amps -/+, But i cant remember which ocz series Psu's get unstable near full load..ripple on the 12v rails under full load. So you might wanna look that up just for extra peace of mind.
     
  5. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    yes, it can with power to spare altough if what gam'ster said is truth, u should check another brand
     
  6. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Love my Stelthxstream 600w:) should power that system fine. still going to use it when i get a GTX 260.
     
  7. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    As others have said it will do the job absolutely fine with no probs but i only suggested that nick look into the 12v ripple issue if he feels he needs to, But im almost 90% sure that it was the higher wattage models that suffered, OCZ are a good brand no reason to change.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I do do believe some people have had that problem with one of the OCZ PSU models, i am not sure if my OCZ Stelthxstram(600w) has even hit full load, and i think its rare that it would hit 100% peak load.
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Well, it's rated higher than my Antec 500w. I say go for it.
     
  10. simplec1

    simplec1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    yea it can, I have the same PSU just different video card and more drives
     
  11. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    its fine by miles, i had one on my system for ages (see rig list)
     
  12. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    I had a horrible experience with OCZ 1000 watt PSU ...first one lasted 10 minutes ...second one lasted 30 minutes and one reboot ...3rd one lasted 3 minutes ...I then took the at the time $350+ PSU to my drive way and by the cables smashed it to sh1t so I wouldn't have to worry about the next possibly taking out my other components...I then bought a ToughPower 1200 watt and no issues at all ...bought another ToughPower 1000 watt and no problem at all....Now lots will say the OCZ are awesome PSU's and I would agree back when they made the adjustable rail 600 watt one which I still have they were great but now well I will never ever for any reason buy another one.:ohwell:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page