1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can a SSD Hard drive be installed in a IDE laptop

Discussion in 'Storage' started by trt740, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I have a old Compaq Presario R3000 Laptop that I am trying to breath a little more life into. I was wondering if it is possible to install a SSD drive into this older Windows Xp machine. I have never cloned and installed a SSD drive, and I was try to figure out if this is possible. Here are the old Lappys specs. http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en&product=442915 Believe it or not, it still looks brand new and is decent for home work or basic surfing the net. If it is possible, can you recommend a small drive to replace its current 4500 rpm 30 gb hard drive.
     
  2. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Putting an ssd in would be pointless, as IDE only reaches speed's of 133Mb/sec, which is the speed of most HDD's. But it is possible to get IDE SSD's.
     
    trt740 and AthlonX2 say thanks.
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I did not realize that, but I was wondering can you recommend a fairly fast IDE hard drive to replace my current one. My current drive is a 2gb 4500 rpm, or would SSD be faster.
     
  4. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The question is, what do you want to spend? And how much space do you need?
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Any fairly modern drive would probably be faster.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  6. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I do not need more than say 60 to 100 gb, and I would be spending a $100.00 . This is just a old home work machine. It was my father in law's before he died and has nostalgic value to my wife.
     
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    I really wouldn't spend that much on the machine. I probably wouldn't pay that for the entire computer.

    How about this?
    Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD1600BPVT 160GB 5400...
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    It was my father in law's before he died and has nostalgic value to my wife. So it is important to her.
     
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Saw the edit after I posted. :laugh:

    But any of these would be a good upgrade:
    Notebook Hard Drives, Laptop Hard Drives - Newegg....

    250 - 320GB for less than $50. You can probably go cheaper if you look at Ebay or something like that. Or see if someone on this forum has one for sale. The WD I posted is only 160GB.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  10. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It has to be PATA/IDE, not SATA
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  11. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Cannot use SATA need IDE.
     
  12. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,886 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    I THOUGHT I HAD FILTERED!!!11!! I was surprised at how cheap and plentiful IDE drives were. :laugh:

    Right. :(
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,733 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    trt740 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  15. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    trt740 says thanks.
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    trt740 says thanks.
  17. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just found that one too! Amazon has quite a variety:
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_st?bbn=1254762011&qid=1358800645&rh=n%3A172282%2Cn%3A!493964%2Cn%3A541966%2Cn%3A193870011%2Cn%3A1254762011%2Cp_n_feature_keywords_six_browse-bin%3A6158679011%2Cp_n_feature_keywords_three_browse-bin%3A4990425011&sort=popularity-rank

    Edit:
    Link not working for some reason. Just filter for Internal HDD, PATA(IDE), and 2.5 Inch
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  18. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    From the reviews someone wrote, "Pros: Received in 3-days. Easy install, booted & loaded Win-XP less than 1-hour. Works great. Revived old Presario R3000 notebook.Cons: None at this time." So it will work with my current computer.
     
  19. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Any IDE drive should. Check amazon, that is way overpriced for it's capacity.
     
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    fair enough.


    Id be wiery. Ive got stuff from amazon before where they fullfilled it and its from another retailer, and it was junk. It wasn't a computer part but something else. Nothing like description and shit. So OP if you buy from amazon, make sure it says ships and sold by amazon haha.
     
  21. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,733 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,199
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    :cry:
    Pretty much all the IDE drives are from other retailers, probably because amazon doesn't bother to stock them any more.
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,111 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007N9I1UW/?tag=tec06d-20

    I'd get that. For the price you are looking at spending on an HDD, you might as well just go ahead and get the SSD, as long as space isn't a big concern. And heck, the SSD is bigger than the HDD in it now.

    Yes, and SSD will be slowed down by the IDE interface, however it isn't just about raw read/write speed. Latency is a large factor in why SSDs make the system feel faster. Plus, most 5400RPM IDE drives, even modern ones on the market today, will be way slower than an IDE SSD.
     
    Chevalr1c and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I was considering this, but it 32gb enough for him? If he wanted more, 64 GB would be the next step up, and that would be about 100 or so.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page