1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can any ram be overclocked?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Knoxx29, Mar 23, 2014.

  1. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all
    I want to buy some new
    G.Skill ram and I concern to know if any ram can be overclocked...
    Any advice?
     
  2. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,706 (6.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,280
    yes any ram can be overclocked within reason, as long as motherboard/cpu/cooling/power is adequate.

    But just like cpu's etc different ram types overclock differently, if wanting to overclock ram i wouldnt buy new but some older PSC/BBSE or similar IC's that can overclock well.

    also ivy-bridge have great IMC's so paired with good ram you could do well.

    in the hwbot classified there are great deals on some good clocking mems, just ask the seller what they clock like. i bought my Trident mems for cheap and they do 2400 8-11-8 or 2600 8-12-8 (on air)

    http://forum.hwbot.org/forumdisplay.php?f=122
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
    Knoxx29 and Arjai say thanks.
  3. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    292 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Short answer is yes. But as any other pc component it is a lottery.
     
  4. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    I own some Kingston Hyper Blue/Hyper Genesis, I can set it maximum to 1600, when I set it up to 1866 the system reboot it self
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    Often, overclocking RAM requires more than just setting it to a higher frequency. Voltage, timings also need to be adjusted. It's probably best to google some guides on doing it with Ivy Bridge/Sandy Bridge systems.
     
    d1nky and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,706 (6.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,280
    there are loads of guides for Z77 and ivy-bridge mem clocking. The ROG site has lots of good articles too.

    but i would definitely not buy some new g.skill mems unless buying the more expensive tridentx or pi's that have good IC's (integrated circruits), older mems (ill find a list) have IC's like BBSE, elpida, elpida-hyper, PSC etc which can overclock well and able to adjust timings to go tight with voltage. also if you got the cash corsair platinums have great IC's.

    you may know that on graphics card have memory modules (IC's) and just like them each overclock differently, i.e hynix vs elpida.

    heres a few guides i used.

    http://www.overclockers.com/memory-overclocking-guide-ivy-bridge
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...ng-Guide-(Extreme-LN2-Section-Guide-Included)
    http://rog.asus.com/136402012/maximus-motherboards/maximus-v-formula-overclocking-guide/

    p.s we have the same platform so i could always help ya
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  7. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,788 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yes, but how far you can push it, it depends on your ram too and the other, like some board maynot give you much room to set it up by yourself
     
  8. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yes, all or "most" (some exceptions) Ram can be overclocked. But just like a CPU..... there are certain requirements. BIOS Needs to support the overclock, Better surrounding components will help with easier overclock, better ram better overclock, and like CPU's its a lottery some Ram modules will overclock better than others. Its the luck of the draw.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014
  9. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
  10. dom99

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    233 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    I have 8GB G.Skill Ares 2400MHZ RAM, can it be overclocked to hgiher speeds? and if so will the Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard be able to run it at higher speeds?
     
  11. arskatb

    arskatb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    206 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Finland
    "any ram" no
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page