1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can anyone help me decipher BSoD Dumps

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by psyko12, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    I've encountered 2 consecutive BSoD's but I couldn't find what is in it using the "WinDbg.exe" from WinSDK, maybe am doing something wrong.

    So if anyone can point out what causes my BSoD would be a great help. Attached are the 2 dump files.

    This is what I only see but I don't know which driver is it really.
    P.S. just remove the .txt from the extension.
    Thanks
    Psyk~~

    Attached Files:

  2. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  3. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Also found that here, but I still don't know what specifically is the problem, thats why I ran here...

    Something about:
    bugcheck code:0x00000124
    parameter 1:
    parameter 2: fffffa80`028dd688
    parameter 3:
    caused by driver: ntoskrnl.exe
    caused by address: ntoskrnl.exe+4b18cc


    so is that the culprit? and thats a MS Win proccess.... Corrupt file?

    I've ran sfc /scannow and integrity is at 100%
  4. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    yep that's a MS file, and is corrupted. You can try to google and maybe find a way to fix it, but I had no such luck... ended up just reinstalling windows :(

    *edit: Before I had the error I was running on a RAID0 setup, which was already cause some issues. Got rid of the RAID and reinstalled windows.. no problems. (It also can be hard drive issue, my case "bad cable".. didn't know till after i removed RAID)

    Thing to try: Here

    But with all that said.. I would try switching out data cables/stress test hard drive/and if possible clone hard drive to a spare drive... before you do any reinstalling :)
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
    psyko12 says thanks.
  5. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Hmm now that it mentioned keyboard. My system once did not boot up when keyboard is plugged in... WTH lol Lemme do those stuff you suggested.. Hope it wont happen again... Usually happened when booting up, log on screen froze then same thing next boot up after a chkdsk /r option...
  6. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    UPDATE:

    It's still doing it T_T

  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    0124 has been a voltage issue related to memory or its controller as far as I know.
    psyko12 says thanks.
  8. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Guess my board is going kaput :( ! Thank you for the reply :)

    As the BIOS is limited to automatic settings, is there a way to confirm this?
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    well, it could be that a component just needs a slight bump in volts, signs of wear, but not really that anything is dying.

    You could try another set of a friends ram, or see if they can run your sticks before you go spending money on anything.
  10. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    I see will have to ask them tomorrow, it's almost 10 pm here.

    Try out other ram or let them try out mine. (Would doing memtest or windows memory diagnostics help out too?)

    Copy that.
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    If it is ram or controller related, memtest 86+ will likely show it soon, meaning the 0124 BSOD should show up!
  12. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    whoops I didn't catch the 0124, it was late last night when I posted.
    I agree with sneeky, do a memtest. If any things is gonna show, it will show some error or even BSOD. Which then you will know for sure if it's the RAM or controller. I would memtest your RAM, if any errors or BSOD pop up... then swap ram out with a friends, and repeat test. Just to be sure it's the controller and not ram. If you have same errors, I would believe that would be a motherboard replacement.. hope not!
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,095
    Could it not be a dying HDD?
    psyko12 says thanks.
  14. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    well still could be, either dying or bad cable. ntoskrnl.exe will crash on about anything, but on a hard drive there's usually signs... slow load speeds. Timing it self out
  15. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
  16. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Update: Well still running atm, posting from it. Altho I've now encountered weirder problems.
    When trying to change wallpapers/themes it gives me an error "Explorer.exe - Server threw an exception" and at some point in time I would hear crackle/static over the speakers, it gets worse when I use the middle scroller of my mouse it makes more noise.

    P.S. This is the left system specs on my spec dropdown (775 p4 640)

    I've tried running w/o the mouse but it still makes the noise at some point in time.

    Well I hope not as S.M.A.R.T says it's ok..

    R.I.P pc then? :(
  17. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Update 2:

    ATM running on a stick of ram, passed 2 tests of memtest and this my longest uptime since the dillema, will test other stick, then test the next slot, with both sticks... As of now doing a little mmo-ing for my fix of lack of online yesterday...

    Also fubarred windows some components throwing "processname - Server threw an exception" errors.... Will re-format after doing the above tests...
  18. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Update 3: It seems both ram sticks and slots are fine, but when I run them together all hell breaks loose, but when I run solo of both stick the PC is a-ok... So I dunno what to do now... The mobo effed up?

    EDIT:
    Update 4: Could a dying PSU also trigger this? Now it restarts by itself... :/
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  19. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Update 5: After the bombardment of BSoD's this BSoD finally showed a real blue screen, unlike the others before they've had reboots (whilst it's not set to reboot).

    Heres the dump, any pity or help would be much appreciated.

    Code:
    ==================================================
    Dump File         : 073111-21187-01.dmp
    Crash Time        : 7/31/2011 21:02:58
    Bug Check String  : 
    Bug Check Code    : 0x00000124
    Parameter 1       : 00000000`00000000
    Parameter 2       : fffffa80`01db7038
    Parameter 3       : 00000000`b2000000
    Parameter 4       : 00000000`1020080f
    Caused By Driver  : hal.dll
    Caused By Address : hal.dll+12a3b
    File Description  : 
    Product Name      : 
    Company           : 
    File Version      : 
    Processor         : x64
    Crash Address     : ntoskrnl.exe+7fd00
    Stack Address 1   : 
    Stack Address 2   : 
    Stack Address 3   : 
    Computer Name     : 
    Full Path         : C:\Windows\Minidump\073111-21187-01.dmp
    Processors Count  : 2
    Major Version     : 15
    Minor Version     : 7601
    Dump File Size    : 287,480
    ==================================================

    Attached Files:

  20. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    When the BSOD's occur, what are you doing? Gaming/Browsing Internet etc?

    If you don't mind, take a screenshot of HWMonitor Just so we can narrow it down, mostly looking at voltages.
    [​IMG]
  21. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Here ya go..

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • sob.png
      sob.png
      File size:
      56 KB
      Views:
      231
  22. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    All seems fine, Have you tried looking threw the Event Logs? Sometimes it will show signs of a issues with/without it crashing. Filter threw "Application" "Error, Critical and Warning" Then look threw for issues that occur around "7/31/2011 21:02:58" If nothing.. I'm stump, possible your mobo has gone bad. But it should at least show something
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,401 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,095
    It could indeed be a faulty PSU.

    And software is not to trust when it comes to voltages. Look at CrackerJacks pic, according to that both his 12V and 5V lines are way out of specc. The system would not work with voltages like that.
    psyko12 says thanks.
  24. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,859 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    It seems that the event log wrote something like this:

    Critical (X) 7/31/2011 21:02:43 Kernel-Power
    ERROR (!) 7/31/2011 21:02:46 Kernel-Processor-Power
    ERROR (!) 7/31/2011 21:02:46 Kernel-Processor-Power
    ERROR (!) 7/31/2011 21:02:59 Bugcheck
    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x00000124 (0x0000000000000000, 0xfffffa8001db7038, 0x00000000b2000000, 0x000000001020080f). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: 073111-21187-01.

    PSU related? or something else dying?

    EDIT: Strange ... Been running for 3 hours now and also played a game on it... Hasn't BSoD on me yet... Also disabled a service called "intelppm.sys" via the SC command.
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  25. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    I'm gonna go with PSU at fault, do you have a spare or can borrow a friends?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page