1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can anyone reccomend some cat5 cabling or will any do ?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by mullered07, May 27, 2008.

  1. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ok im fed up of my wireless connection now, i only got it cause i was going to be putting my pc in another room but that hasnt happenend, anyway im looking to go wired again and am looking for some cat5 cabling (thats right aint it ? router>pc?)

    can anyone reccomend some or is it all basically the same ? surely there are some with better/more reliable connectors etc ?
     
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    oh btw i have onboard realtek RTL8168/8111 Family PCIE Gigabit Ethernet NIC/ Ndis 6.0 and netgear router, cant think of model
     
  3. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    cat6?

    Cables are cables as far as I've ever used. Unless they're damaged, they all run at the same standard that is cat5.
     
  4. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    what u mean cat 6? thats what i need or.....
     
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Nah, it's all basically the same. Just get whatever CAT5e or CAT6 cable you want.
     
  6. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have Rosewill network cables. They are cat6. I have the 50ft, 25ft and 3ft variants and they all work very well.
     
  8. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    well i thought that (the cheaper the better ffs lol its only cable right ? ) until i read this one starred review on dabs for a cheap 10m cat5 cable
     
  9. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    so just any old cat5/cat6 cable will be fine for router> PC ?
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    As long as the connector stays in the port and works, who really cares?
     
  11. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    The only thing about Cat5 and Cat 6 is the fact that Cat 5 was the cables that came out when Ethernet was first made... Cat 6 is the next gen of the cables. They are most of the time made with 23 gage wire for better cross talk and data transfer...
    Like Wile E says, Cat Cables are cat cables... I don't see a reason to go with Cat 6 cables.. My father would say its not a need. And he does the networking for power plants... In the time he's used Both cables, he says that he hasn't seen a difference in them. So, go cat5 and you should be good.
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    CAT5e is upgraded from the original CAT5, so it's a little different. But both 5e and 6 are capable of 1Gb transfers on a small home network. CAT6 won't show any benefits until you get into really long cable runs, or possibly extremely high throughput situations, like a database server or something.
     
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Right there. And what Better place to find out how it works then a power plant or so forth.. Cat 6 even has their upgrade.. Cat6a.. Or I believe thats the upgrade... Cat 5 would be the same at the distance in a house... no change in speed.. Your right on that Wile E.
     
  14. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,276 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    No

    Cat5e or Cat6. NOT Cat 5.
     
  15. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    That`s what someone told me when I was buying cat 6
     
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I have some CAT6 here too. It all depends on price. Got my CAT6 stuff on sale for cheaper than CAT5e at the time, so why not? Either way, price should dictate what you buy in this category.
     
  17. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    hey thanks for proving it wasnt such a stupid post afterall, ive seen some cheap cat 5e cables and think ill opt for that, btw anyone know what "boots" are ?
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It's just a piece of rubber covering the connector.
     
    mullered07 says thanks.
  19. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    well who the hell needs that, it already has the sticky out plastic bit lol thats just being picky :p
     
  20. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,276 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Very important if you are dragging cables through cable runs or intermingled at the patch panel. Why, because those plastic things snap off and then the cable is useless (unreliable) since it wont grip in the socket... requiring a new RJ45 plug to be put on the end.
     
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    But wholly unimportant in most home environments. Besides, all you need is a piece of tape covering the connector to achieve the same goal.
     
  22. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,276 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    LOL. Likewise, when the brakes fail, all you need to do is open the door and put your foot down.
     
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not nearly the same. A piece of electrical tape easily protects the clip when you need to make a cable run, being easily as effective as a boot, trust me, I know from personal experience. A foot, on the other hand, not nearly as effective as brakes at stopping a car, something I also know from personal experience. lol.
     
  24. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Those rubber protectors make them stay on. Currently I have a cable with the plastic thingy broken off on this machine. Half the time when I mess with the USB ports on the back the network cable comes out :)
     
  25. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Dan is high class like that :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page