1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can anyone recommend me a good sound card?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Funtoss, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hi, i currently have a Logitech 5.1 x530 Speakers

    and i want to upgrade my sound card because its not giving me good sound bass :\
    coz my friends bass is really loud and nice

    i have a C-media 8738
    and i was looking at this:

    http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Components/Sound-cards/auction-363324211.htm

    is that a good sound card? and is it compatible with windows 7 64bit?
    will my sound (bass) improve?


    please help me find a nice sound card from the trademe.co.nz website
    please thanks :)
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,951 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    That card is very old, and your onboard sound is probably better. Does your friend have the same set of speakers as you? That would make a bigger difference than a new sound card would. If you're really hell bent on buying a new sound card, you won't get away with spending just $20. If you're only looking to spend that much, you might as well just keep your onboard sound.

    http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Components/Sound-cards/auction-362734578.htm
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    yeah he has the same speakers
     
  4. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    thats too much for a sound card :\
     
  5. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    just wondering if the creative sound blaster would work in windows 7 64 bit and is it better than my c media 8738? thanks
     
  6. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    554 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    What does your friend have in the way of a sound card? You should be able to find cards like the X-fi extreme music for cheap on eBay that could make a difference, or if you have a stereo, hook the computer up to that instead.
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,895 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,298
    Your onboard motherboard sound is most likely better.
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
  8. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    554 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    ^What erocker said. The Sound Blaster Live is ancient tech now -those things came out in the late 90s!
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
  9. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    my mates has on board sound, i think i might just use my on board then.. but my on board sucks... sound max lol

    can anyone find me a good sound max driver?
     
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,951 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well, if you want high quality audio, you have to pay for it. I wouldn't recommend cheaping out on the sound card (or any other component for that matter)... you'll just be wasting your money.

    If you want to gamble, try this:
    http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Components/Sound-cards/auction-363548770.htm

    I heard somewhere that Creative finally fixed their memory leak issue brought on by using CMSS-3D and some other features, but I can't verify that.
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    is that a good sound card? will it improve my bass? :D
     
  12. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    what is the creative memory leak?
     
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,951 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's alright. Better than onboard for sure. Your friend might have more bass than you simply because of a volume knob on the sub. I don't know if yours has that, though.

    I've pretty much explained all there is to it. There is (or was) an issue where Creative cards caused audiodg.exe to get a massive memory leak when you used features like CMSS-3D, and some others like the Equalizer. As I said, I'm not sure if they fixed it or not.
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    This was fixed with a driver update back in late 2009 :)
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,951 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    You sure about that?
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    I vaguely remember reading about it on the Creative forum quite a while back. It also only affected some of their X-Fi cards.
    I'll see if I can find it :)

    EDIT: OK, the bookmarked thread no longer exists, and I'm less than successful finding a clear answer anywhere really :/
    I suspect, then, that this problem may well still exist, albeit on only some of the X-Fi models (my Elite Pro, for example, doesn't even use audiodg.exe, so was never affected to begin with).
    I'm intrigued now! XD
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011
    Funtoss and hat say thanks.
  17. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    yes i have that knob but my driver is the main thing holding back my bass

    i used to have a lot of bass in windows 7 32 bit because of the driver (c media 8738 version 0639 )

    but that driver isnt compatible with 64 bit so now i have to use the c media audio configuration version 7

    this driver version doesnt provide much bass or anything

    and also it doesnt have enough options for 16 bit and it doesnt have 24 bit as well :( where as it used to have it in windows 7 32 bit

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    What driver version are you using for the C-Media?
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
  19. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  20. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    so do you know what the problem is? why am i not seeing 24bit anymore?
     
  21. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Driver issue IMO, also use EDIT, stop double posting.
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
  22. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    oh sorry i m kinda new to forums and stuff, thanks for the tip though

    and i'll see if its a driver issue, thanks.

    i'll keep it in mind :)
     
  23. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    I cannot find anything on the web that explains why you cannot have the same functionality from the latest drivers, nor should there be a difference in functionality between the 32-bit & 64-bit versions of the software.. :/
     
    Funtoss says thanks.
  24. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    oh okay, thanks for trying though
     
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  25. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,951 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Funtoss says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page