1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can anyone tell me what this blue screen means?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by DTV DRAGON, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    well though i had my system stable at 4.0 but ive been getting this bluescreen once inawhile, even if the computer is just left idle, I tried to fiqure out what it means but no go, anyone here tell me? here is a few shots of the error window
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    geez I thought for sure one of you gurus would know what this meant lol, Ive read that it is a driver issue with win7 of some sorts, but all my drivers for board, bios etc, all are up todate, maybe the bluescreen has nothng to do with my overclocks? any ideas??
     
  3. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    909 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    run intelburntest to see if it really is stable because according to those bluescreens, it isnt
     
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,536 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Did a bit of looking around, do you have Steam installed?
     
  5. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    yes i have dirt2 so i needed to install steam
     
  6. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    ok i will need to download that as iam sure i dont have it, will try and see how it goes,
     
  7. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,536 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Well some users found that uninstalling steam helped the problem, no sure if you could do this.

    Other solutions were to update drivers on the video cards but you seem to have done that.
     
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    If it's stable at stock, but not at overclocked settings, then it's the overclock that's causing the problem. There's no other possibility. Don't bother reinstalling drivers, patches, anything.

    You can try to stabilize it by adjusting the amount of overclock and a lot of other settings in the BIOS. It's a time consuming process and can have you pulling your hair out.

    If it makes you feel any better, my system now blue screens randomly and rarely. It too, is overclocked, at 4.11GHz, so I have the same exact problem. I'll be running it at stock for a while to see if it stabilizes it.
     
  9. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    well intel burn test ran 10 passes and finished with no probs, so my overclock looks stable, might be the steam thing, its random so its not like it happens everday, but it still happens wich kinda ticks me off as i like to have things running good, or as good as could be
     
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,375 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    BC Code 124 means it is a general hardware error. It could be a video card, memory, hard drive, etc.. even, possibly, drivers can lead to it.

    Here is good guide to help: Windows 7 - [2-Int] Stop 0x124 - what it means and what to try

    I would suspect, like previously mentioned, o/c, memory or something in that area.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
    DTV DRAGON says thanks.
  11. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    well iam then leaning towards my memory, hopefully my new ram gets here soon so i can rule that out thanx 95viper
     
  12. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    did intel burn test a few times and passes it all
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    I would try the new ram but the best way to test is to 1) Widen ram timings 2)lower the FSB. There could be many things but there are settings you can play with to pin it down to a smaller area.
     
    DTV DRAGON says thanks.
  14. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    actually two of the four stick just arrived at my door!! prolly another 5 days or so until other two arrives from the egg!! The danishdevils made it here..thanx D.D.!!
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  15. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Intel burn test failed at stock setting ! Junk!
     
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    DTV DRAGON: Why don't you try running your system at stock and see if it's stable. It's basic troubleshooting procedure and will give you a base line. If it's not stable there, then you're pissing in the wind otherwise.
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    A STOP 0x124 error is an error that's reported via the Windows Hardware Error Architecture (WHEA). This type of error is reported by the hardware (most likely your CPU) and doesn't conform to the normal Windows memory dump analysis techniques.

    These errors are normally hardware errors - and these are the most likely causes (in this order):
    - hardware failure
    - hardware incompatibility
    - driver corruption/incompatibility (others disagree with this)

    How did you install Vista Ultimate. What sort of disk did you use? Have you installed the drivers that are required by the OS? Check Device Manager to see if there are any unknown/problem drivers.

    The BSOD errors are primarily hardware, with a smattering of other errors. These are primarily memory or hard drive issues. Since the memory tests were flawless (as long as they were run for 3 or more passes), then I'd have to suspect the hard drive sub-system.

    Run the steps outlined in this post to provide us with more information: http://www.techsupportforum.com/1871981-post2.html

    Try running a bootable hard drive diagnostic. Instructions here: http://usasma.vox.com/library/post/b...agnostics.html

    Also, you've got numerous drivers that date back to 2006 - so I wonder if any of them could be causing this (but suspect not because XP is dated even earlier).

    Then I'd suspect compatibility issues - but your system was designed by HP with either XP or Vista in mind - so that generally rules that out.

    So, in the end, it's something wrong with the hardware.
    - I've read of issues with MemTest86, so I'm now recommending the use of MemTest86+

    http://www.memtest.org/download/2.11/memtest86+-2.11.iso.zip

    SOURCE
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    for the most part it is stable,, i guess thats like kinda being pregnant lol its passed intel burn test and prime95 for 3 hours, just blue screen id say 1 per week , when puter is sitting at idle, runs vantage, etc.. all other tests, I dont think i tried memtest but i have tried windows memory test and it wa fine, I think my ram is just cheap stuff as it is still what came when i bought a acer desktop and i just kept the ram and placed it in this setup. but like i said i have two of the four sticks of g.skill cl7d ddr3-1600 1.65 volt here ready to install as soon as rest arrive,
     
  19. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I remember a while ago seeing a OCing guide that listed the 0x124 stop as either being CPU volts too low or maybe it was VTT. Can't quite remember, but my guess is that one specific program doesn't like your overclock. When I was messing around with a PII 940, I was able to get over 3.7GHz when just playing, but if I ever tried to run over 3.7GHz and WCG Boinc, my PC would just crash. So if you can isolate that program, perhaps look in your bios for a way to save settings, and have one saved that is your 4GHz clock, and one that is lower which doesn't interfere with that program.
     
    DTV DRAGON says thanks.
  20. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    yeah i was told that i should raise my cpu volts up abit more from a guy on extreme o/c as they have a thread dedicated to this type of boards, here is my bios settings
    Code:
    ******Motherboard Intelligent Tweaker (M.I.T.)******
    
    Robust Graphics Booster.........................[ AUTO ]
    CPU Clock Ratio.................................[ 9 ]
    Fine CPU Clock Ratio............................[ + 0.0 ]
    CPU Frequency ............................[ 445x9] 4.0       
    
    ******Clock Chip Control******
    
    CPU Host Clock Control..........................[ Enabled ]
    CPU Host Frequency (Mhz)........................[ 445]
    PCI Express Frequency (Mhz).....................[ 100 ]
    C.I.A 2.........................................[ Disabled ]
    
    ******Advanced Clock Control******
    
    CPU Clock Drive.................................[ 800mv ]
    PCI Express Clock Drive.........................[8 00mv ]
    CPU Clock Skew..................................[ 0ps ]
    MCH Clock Skew..................................[ 0ps ]
    
    ******DRAM Performance Control******
    
    Performance Enhance.............................[ STANDARD ]
    
    (G) MCH Frequency Latch.........................[ 333]
    System Memory Multipler.........................[ 240B ]
    Memory Frequency 1333...........................[ 1068 ]
    DRAM Timing Selectable..........................[ manual ]
    
    CAS Latency Time................................[ 9]
    tRCD............................................[ 9]
    tRP.............................................[ 9]
    tRAS............................................[ 24]
    
    ******Advanced Timing Control******
    
    tRRD[4].........................................[ 4]
    tWTR[5].........................................[ 5]
    tWR[10].........................................[ 10 ]
    tRFC[74] .......................................[ 74 ]
    tRTP[5].........................................[ 5]
    Command Rate (cmd)[0]...........................[ Auto ]
    
    ******Channel A Timing Settings******
    
    Static tRead Value [ 11 ] ................[ 11 ]
    tRD Phase0 Adjustment [ 0 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tRD Phase1 Adjustment [ 0 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tRD Phase2 Adjustment [ 0 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tRD Phase3 Adjustment [ 0 ] ................[ Auto ]
    
    tRD 2rd (Differnt Rank) [ 8 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tWR 2wr (Differnt Rank) [ 8 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tWR 2rd (Differnt Rank) [ 7 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tRD 2wr (Same/Difft Rank) [ 9 ] ................[ Auto
    Dimm 1 Clock Skew Control.......................[ Auto ]
    Dimm 2 Clock Skew Control.......................[ Auto ]
    DDR Write Training..............................[ Auto ]
    
    ******Channel A Driving Settings******
    
    Drive Strength Profile..........................[ Auto ]
    Data Driving Pull Up Level......................[ Auto ]
    cmd Driving Pull Up Level.......................[ Auto ]
    ctrl Driving Pull Up Level......................[ Auto ]
    clk Driving Pull Up Level.......................[ Auto ]
    
    Data Driving Pull Down Level....................[ Auto ]
    cmd Driving Pull Down Level.....................[ Auto ]
    ctrl Driving Pull Down Level....................[ Auto ]
    clk Driving Pull Down Level.....................[ Auto ]
    
    ******Channel B Timing Settings******
    
    Static tRead Value [ 11] ................[ 11 ]
    tRD Phase0 Adjustment [ 0 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tRD Phase1 Adjustment [ 0 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tRD Phase2 Adjustment [ 0 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tRD Phase3 Adjustment [ 0 ] ................[ Auto ]
    
    tRD 2rd (Differnt Rank) [ 8 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tWR 2wr (Differnt Rank) [ 8 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tWR 2rd (Differnt Rank) [ 7 ] ................[ Auto ]
    tRD 2wr (Same/Difft Rank) [ 9 ] ................[ Auto ]
    
    Dimm 1 Clock Skew Control.......................[ Auto ]
    Dimm 2 Clock Skew Control.......................[ Auto ]
    DDR Write Training..............................[ Auto ]
    
    ******Channel B Driving Settings******
    
    Drive Strength Profile..........................[ Auto ]
    Data Driving Pull Up Level......................[ Auto ]
    cmd Driving Pull Up Level.......................[ Auto ]
    ctrl Driving Pull Up Level......................[ Auto ]
    clk Driving Pull Up Level.......................[ Auto ]
    
    Data Driving Pull Down Level....................[ Auto ]
    cmd Driving Pull Down Level.....................[ Auto ]
    ctrl Driving Pull Down Level....................[ Auto ]
    clk Driving Pull Down Level.....................[ Auto ]
    
    ******Motherboard Voltage Control******
    
    Load-Line Calibration...........................[ENABLED]
    CPU Vcore [ 1.25 ]...................[ 1.29375]
    CPU Termination [ 1.20 ]...................[ 1.26]
    CPU PLL [ 1.55]...................[ 1.57]
    CPU Reference [ 0.805]...................[ NORMAL]
    
    MCH Core [ 1.100 ]...................[ 1.30 ]
    MCH Reference [ 0.760 ]...................[ NORMAL ]
    MCH/DRAM Refernce [ 0.760]...................[ NORMAL]
    ICH I/O [ 1.500 ]...................[ NORMAL ]
    ICH Core [ 1.100 ]...................[ NORMAL]
    
    DRAM Voltage [ 1.5]...................[ 1.58]
    DRAM Termination [ 0.75]...................[NORMAL]
    Channel A Ref [ 0.900 ]...................[ DONT HAVE ]
    Channel B Ref [ 0.900 ]...................[ DONT HAVE ]
    
    ******Advanced BIOS Features******
    
    Limit CPUID Max to 3............................[ Disabled ]
    No-Execute memory Protect.......................[ Disabled ]
    CPU Enhance Halt (CIE)..........................[ Disabled ]
    C2/C2E State Support............................[ Disabled ]
    C4/C4E State Support............................[ Disabled ]
    CPU Thermal Monitor.............................[ Disabled ]
    CPU EIST Function...............................[ Disabled ]
    Virtualization Technology.......................[ Disabled ]__________________
    
    
     
  21. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    If you're running those volts for 4.0GHz you may be very low. I've noticed with some chips, they do great at low volts to one point, then each step up started needing more and more volts. For instance, this i5 650 I am running, up to 4.5GHz I was using 1.35v and possibly could have done less, but once I started going over 4.5GHz I had to use 1.4v or more.
     
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    My E8600 does 4ghz fine at 1.2v which is stock,maybe its just a good chip.

    Ive had that dreaded 0x124 before,i never did find out what it was as it just stopped doing it.
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,073
    Do you think it's the RAM or know it's the RAM? If you haven't, download and run MemTest to find out. :toast:
     
  24. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I had a E8400 E0 that would do 4GHz at 1.2v as well, those duals clock so very differently that the quads. The s775 quads were actually 2 dies on one chip.

    EDIT: I agree with erocker, could be ram too. What are the stock speed and timings on your ram?
     
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Every time I've seen the 124 error, it wasn't due to ram, but due to a secondary setting in bios that needs to be raised. Like with p55 it most likely means that you need to raise a vtt or pll just a notch.

    Ram gives you a strange "letter/number" error.. like.. 0x0000000B3 or 0x0000000A4. Or at lease every time I see a ram issue.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page