1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can cpu be dead? / what is symtom for dead cpu?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by HiddenStupid, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. HiddenStupid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    can cpu be dead? / what is symtom for dead cpu? / what can cause cpu to be dead?
  2. Hitman.1stGame

    Hitman.1stGame New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Tripoli/Libya
    if it still work that's means it's not dead ..
    do some benchmark to make sure
  3. HiddenStupid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    what is your cpu usage say?

    mine say 2, 3, 9% in order rapidly. when just opening firefox and thats it. is this normal?
  4. Hitman.1stGame

    Hitman.1stGame New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Tripoli/Libya
    ^^ normelly very will ..
    UR CPU healthy and kicking :nutkick:
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Symptom for a dead CPU: It won't work anymore.
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,415 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Dead CPUs have similar symptoms to a dead motherboard (won't POST, few signs of life).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,223 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    CPU's can do some very odd things as there dieing.

    My old amd athlon 2600+ seemed to work fine untill i tryed running a game or benchmark then the pc would blue screen, everything else was fully tested to such as ram and graphics.

    i took the cpu back and they found it to be faulty so replaced it.

    i've also had an AMD duron do funny things to where the pc would not power up inless i turned it upside down lol again all parts were tested and cpu was found to be faulty.
  8. The_Real_DeaL31 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    692 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    canada
    i've never had a cpu die on me yet, either they work or don't its that simple
  9. The_Real_DeaL31 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    692 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    canada
    theirs only a few ways to kill a processor, giving it much voltage, or overheating cpu, or power surge

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page