1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can' get PWM to work on new MCP35X pump

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by DrunkenMafia, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Hi all

    I have just spent all weekend fitting my new H220-edge water kit into my Antec fusion case and now I have it up and running I cannot get the PWM function of the pump to work.

    It is running at 4500rpm regardless of what I try. And its NOISEY!!!

    I am using a Gigabyte GA-MA785G motherboard and have tried auto / voltage & auto in bios for CPU fan and system fan and cannot get either to work.

    Does anyone have any idea? :shadedshu
  2. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    Don't you have PWM option, at least my Gigabyte P45 boards have Auto, Voltage and PWM options.
  3. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    sorry, type above, I meant I have tried Auto/ PWM & voltage..
  4. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    Smart fan mode PWM with Smart fan control set to Auto or Enabled works for me. Enabled option allows me to adjust profile my self with Easy Tune 6.
  5. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I haven't tried easytune yet. I definitely have the right settings in bios and I can confirm with a 120mm pwm fan I have here that the board works. The fan starts to kick in around 40c on CPU. But not matter what temp the cpu is the pump is always 4500rpm!!
    I might email swiftech about it :)
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Ok so I have downloaded easy tune and again, I cannot get the pump rpm to change. This is getting irritating. :(
  7. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    Probably there is something wrong with the pump then. I have that same pump and pwm control does work fine with it.
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Same here, my UD6 is pushing the H20-320. I dont have any issues with PWM, I assume you connected the PWM wire? I think there are two leads off the 35X pump isnt there? Should be a blue wire that needs connecting.
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    yeah, I have it all connected properly, the 4 pin to PSU and the small 4 pin fan connector to my cpu fan header.

    I have confirmed the PWM is working on my mb with a 120mm pwm fan. I guess that means I have a dud pump, that sux coz I will probably have to return the rad/pump together. :(

    Oh well...

    Thanks
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    The pump is sold as a separate unit, I know when I looked at mine, it seemed removable, but i didnt want to go poking around and screw up a seal. If you look, I believe there are 4 screws that look like they screw into the rad.

    No idea what Swifty is going to say about it though. Likely they will want to replace the "rad unit" to keep you in the warranty:s
  11. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I fixed it!! It turns out the 2 wires in the pwm connector were the wrong way round, in fact the wire colours were correct but they have obviously swapped them in the pump. Easy fix. I did some research on how pwm works and found that the pwm wire is simply grounded to put pump at minimum. So I grounded one wire at a time until pump slowed down. Swapped the pins around now it works great.

    Thanks for the help everyone. :)

    Now just to get some good silent fans as the ones it ships with are noisy as!! I was thinking about 2 x NF P120mm fans from noctua . Any recommendations??
  12. mm67

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Finland
    I have the MCRDrive-320 version with 6 Gentle Typhoon AP-15 fans, GT's are better and cheaper than Noctua's if you can find them. AP-13 or AP-14 versions should be fine if you are aiming for silence.
    DrunkenMafia says thanks.
  13. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie


    I have had a look at the GT fans. The 1850 rpm fan pushes 57cfm @ 28dba while the NF-P120mm pushes 54cfm @ 19.8dba. The noctua is only $3 per fan more than the GT. Of course I am only reading from the website, I have owned a NF-P fan before and was impressed by it but never had any scythe fans.

    What makes you say the GT's are better?

    Here is where I buy parts from:

    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=9

    :cheers:
  14. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    oops
  15. Dice

    Dice

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    213 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Whats your opinion of the pump? Also as its pwm dependent on the cpu what happens if you run furmark with your cpu at idle? Do you cook the gpu???
    I prefer the gts to the nocturnas, i think the gt14s are best for noise with airflow. The 15's were to noisy for me.
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  16. Awesomehandle31 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    miami
    Hello, i am also having this issue with my swiftech dual extreme PWM pump, can you explain to my how you figured out the wiring was backwords? my pump is functioning fine, i just can not adjust it no matter what i do in crappy msi bios. on msi-z77a-g45 mobo, can confirm 4pins work... pump is static @ cap rpm... im rather confused on how to rewire the pump

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page