1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I boot Without a HDD?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by savillm, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    can i boot a system up with out a hdd connected to the mobo?

    i want to go into the bios you see
  2. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I think you can. Pretty sure it won't damage anything. As far as I know, the HDD doesn't really do anything until it's time to boot the OS anyway. Give it a try!
  3. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    yep. Its Completely fine.
  4. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Yup, how else would one create a diskless workstation?
  5. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Yes you can. My spare system doesn't have any drives connected, and I can get in the BIOS fine.
  6. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    Yep, I'm doing exactly that, running Slax on a USB drive because I don't have any HDD/Cdrom cables yet. :)
  7. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Yea, I run off my flash drive sometimes with DSL, Damn Small Linux, uses the Knoppix kernal. Pretty cool.
  8. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    You should try slax man, it's nice too. I ran DSL on my Xbox :)
  9. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Whats slax based off of? How big? Whats it like?
  10. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page