1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I CF two different brand 6950's that have ONLY the shaders unlocked?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Phusius, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    and then OC them together in sapphire trixx to 880/1375/20% power slider?

    I have a couple hundred bucks laying around, and a second reference 6950 on ebay is about that price, is why I ask.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    Yes. Yes you can. :)
     
    Phusius and cadaveca say thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,948 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,071
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    +1 to erocker.

    In fact , Iam running one XFX, and one Sapphire card, in exactly the configuration you describe. No problems doing so that aren't present running one card, or both cards from the same brand.
     
    Phusius says thanks.
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    You after some high end gaming ......lol (jk)

    Cadaveca has it right as always
     
    Phusius and fullinfusion say thanks.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,274 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    amazed your still running XFX after all the heart ache they caused ya Dave :rockout:
     
  6. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380

    I am only doing it because I got my second 6950 2gb reference card for only $165 off eBay... so yeah... I figured why not. Should last me until Haswell/DDR4/Directx12 overhaul.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,948 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,071
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Please. I know it wasn't XFX's fault, and was hardware-related. I have no problems with XFX...they provided me with some great support...it's AMD's horrible display output design that caused all the problems, and is currently a problem for 7-series owners as well.


    Yes, I RMA'd 9 XFX cards of the same model, and paid for a whole other card in shipping fees. But it's AMD's problem, not XFX's.



    Nice grab, I recently aquired my third 6950, also a reference...and also an XFX card with lifetime warranty(I'm now using the non-reference card in my review rig).
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,274 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Curse you and those words lol
     
  9. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Well your 2700k and 6990 should last you until then as well. Unless your really picky about settings. :toast:
     
  10. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    524 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Ditto. Except mine are full 6970-Gigabyte/Sapphire.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page