1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can i find exact graphic card model without opening pc case??

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by vlatce, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    my graphic card is suposted to be hd 7870,but i have hard time detecting real specifications even the exact graphic card model.

    driver says:
    Graphics Bus Capability: PCI Express 2.0
    Maximum Bus Setting: PCI Express 2.0 x16

    gpuz says:
    bus interface: pci-e 3.0x16@x16 1.1
    (when point mouse on pci-e 3.0x16@x16 1.1 on tooltips writes 'the graphic card reports that it suports: pci-express x16 v.3.0.

    it is currently running at:
    pci-express x16 v1.1)

    So where it is running on pci express 2,3 or 1???

    Also official saphire site shows lot of 7870 cards
    http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1160&lid=1&pid=1487&leg=0
    how to find which one is mine without opening the case or something??

    and last thing that is confusing is gpuz show all original parametars of 7870 except the texture fillrate,original is 80GTexel/s but it shows 48.0 GTexel/s WHY???I want to know if this Is real 7870 or it is fake,maybe 7850 cloaked or something??Sorry if all of this sound nubish but i still appreaciate gentle answers :) cheers
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Best option is to open the case and get the model number right off the card.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Rockfella.killswitch

    Rockfella.killswitch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    WOW! Download GPUZ, install it. It shows everything.

    EDIT: u have that already.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    When at idle the link state lowers. Try running furmark or something and seeing if it kicks up to pci-e 2.0 (the max your motherboard supports)
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Sometimes it doesn't show EVERYTHING.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    GPU-z should show you. Also you can try HWinfo, download here: http://www.hwinfo.com/ , this will show you much more about your PC.
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    you wil have to open. no way to tell the manufacturer. unless you have the box.
  8. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    can you post a screenshot of gpu-z
  9. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    In GPU-z and also HWinfo the subvendor / manufacturer is specified, at least for my card.
    vlatce says thanks.
  10. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Would running DXDIAG show it? I know for mine it at least gives the HD 4800 Series. Which isn't exactly what he needs but maybe it's changed since 4 years ago!
    vlatce says thanks.
  11. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thank you all for replays,its all appreaciated
    thank you for hw tool,seems it is only tool that show full model unfortunately at me shows 7850,but is is correct????I hope its not cause i will have to kill vendors :)

    yup
    [​IMG]
    here is what gpureview says what original parametars should be:

    Manufacturer: AMD
    Series: Radeon HD 7k
    GPU: Pitcairn
    Release Date: 2012-03-05
    Interface: PCI-E 3.0 x16
    Core Clock: 1000 MHz
    Shader Clock: 1000 MHz
    Memory Clock: 2400 MHz (4800 DDR)
    Memory Bandwidth: 153.6 GB/sec
    FLOPS: 2560 GFLOPS
    Pixel Fill Rate: 32000 MPixels/sec
    Texture Fill Rate: 80000 MTexels/sec
    Details
    Max Power Draw: 175 W
    Noise Level: Moderate
    Framebuffer: 2048 MB
    Memory Type: GDDR5
    Memory Bus Type: 64x4 (256 bit)
    DirectX Compliance: 11.0
    OpenGL Compliance: 4.2
    PS/VS Version: 5.0/5.0
    Process: 28 nm
    Shader Processors: 1280
    Pipeline Layout: RISC MIMD
    Texture Units: 80
    Raster Operators 32



    nah,not changed its shows 7000 series too here

    anyway guys i thought its will be usefull to post what driver(ccc hardware info) report:

    Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by AMD

    Graphics Chipset AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series



    Device ID 6819

    Vendor 1002
    Subsystem ID E217
    Subsystem Vendor ID 174B
    Graphics Bus Capability PCI Express 2.0
    Maximum Bus Setting PCI Express 2.0 x16
    BIOS Version 015.016.000.001
    BIOS Part Number 113-E217XTHY-SD1
    BIOS Date 2012/02/22
    Memory Size 2048 MB
    Memory Type GDDR5
    Core Clock in MHz 1000 MHz




    i think Device ID 6819 is crucial here,if anyone can interpret graphic card model by ID here please let me know.
    All the best,
    Vlatce
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,903
    vlatce and INSTG8R say thanks.
  13. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Just curious why you can't just pop off the back of your case? Should take just a minute and a flashlight/screwdriver to find out what you have :)
    vlatce says thanks.
  14. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,332 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Yeah there are other ways to get the model number as mentioned, but being afraid to open your case leaves you unaware of little problems that may be creeping up, like those nasty dust bunnies.
    vlatce says thanks.
  15. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    search your video card specs, clockrates.. memory.. etc, and see if anything at the 7800 series matches
    vlatce says thanks.
  16. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    how do you mean,is card better or weaker of 7850???
    Wow how you know about 768 Shaders man,it really is that much in hwinfo:)

    I bought Pc several hours ago (it has warranty or whatever)not sure if should open it :(

    anyway guys here is full hwinfo report,i know it was not called for but i found something that might be interesting it says on motherboard info:
    PCI Express Version Supported: v2.0
    and this is PCI Express v3 card,could this be reason for lower texture fillrate than original??

    http://justpaste.it/1kge
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,779
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    vlatce says thanks.
  18. joellim

    joellim New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    malaysia
    you should return it to the vendor and heads will roll on this one. if you've been promised a 7870, this is a cut down version of the 7850, which is even weaker than the standard 7850.

    Quote from Tom's:

    Update 05/03/2012

    AMD Shanghai became aware of our discovery of a Pitcairn chip with 768 shaders and made it clear that it wasn't especially happy about us spreading news of a Radeon HD 7850 with only 768 shaders. To be clear, AFOX was just as surprised as everyone else to learn about this mystery chip. The PCB with our mystery chip was produced at the beginning of the Radeon HD 7800-series' production run. It's plausible that these 768-shader chips were indeed for validation due to supply considerations. Given the stir that this discovery has created, it's safe to assume that this chip wasn't intended to leave the engineering labs.
    vlatce says thanks.
  19. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    OMG i played for 7870 dammit :(:(.Are you guys sure its 768 card?? I want to be apsolutely sure cause later this day will come computer tehnician and i want to know what to say to him before we get back at vendors....
  20. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    If your case has no warranty sticker, just remove the cover with out touching the Hardware :)
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
    vlatce says thanks.
  21. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    Your card may or may not look like this but the sticker is that green sticker there . Just use you cam and take a pic for what you have Then post
    :toast:

    Attached Files:

    • 11.jpg
      11.jpg
      File size:
      88.8 KB
      Views:
      75
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
    vlatce says thanks.
  22. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    im sorry man im not quite comfortable opening this pc,i will just hope you guys find anything more about this card with tools or something,if anyone need additional info im here.
    all the best,
    Vlatce
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,903
    It says 768 shaders in the GPU-Z screenshot you posted:

    [​IMG]
    vlatce says thanks.
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You do not have a real 7850. Like Erocker already said your short a few hundred shaders of a real 7850 that has 1024SPs, let alone a 7870 which has even more SPs
    vlatce says thanks.
  25. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    It's not the reason for lower texture fill rate, its as you've been told that appears to be a cut down version of the card.

    In regards to the PCI-E 3.0 to achieve the 3.0 speeds you need also a processor that has the PCI-E 3.0 lanes eg any i5 or i7 Ivy Bridge CPU, which processor is running in your PC?

    i3 Ivy Bridge CPUs don't have PCI-E 3.0 Lanes they have PCI-E 2.0 Lanes or if its any Sandy Bridge 1155 CPU those have PCI-E 2.0 Lanes, just to add Sandy Bridge E 2011 Socket has 40 PCI-E Lanes and can achieve PCI-E 3.0.

    So which CPU is in the PC?
    vlatce says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page