1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can i find exact graphic card model without opening pc case??

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by vlatce, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    It cool Just have your tech look at it . If he have a chance Take some pic of the card for us and post any info about the case too .
    :respect:
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  2. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    it is i3 Ivy Bridge CPU i think http://justpaste.it/1kgq

    yeah,you are right i missed it before:banghead:
    are you sure peoples that processor dont slow down texture fill rate or SPs for that matter???Cause i have i3 processor which you say cant run on PCI-E 3.0 speeds but card demand PCI-E 3.0 so its little confusing.....argh have patiance with me guys im aware that we may round in circle over same thing but and i need to be sure what this card is or is not:twitch:

    If he opened it,i will take 10 pics no prob pal :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
    segalaw19800 says thanks.
  3. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    Awesome :toast:
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,089 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    Location:
    Oregon
    vlatce says thanks.
  5. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    723 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125

    So too bad no PCI-E 3.0 for you, due to the Core i3.
    And again texture fill rate has nothing to do with the PCI-E lanes, if anything the aggregate bandwidth that goes through the lanes between PCI-E 2.0 and 3.0 performance difference is negligible,
    Currently to benefit from the 3.0 Lanes will be to run two cards in CF or SLI which the 3.0 lanes will be slashed by half the bandwidth to each card x8 3.0 which is same as x16 2.0 of bandwidth that the two cards will get. having said that you have nothing to worry about even if running at 2.0 speeds for now as long as its single card you are fine.

    Texture fill rate has nothing to do with the PCI-E lanes directly.

    Read this: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/Ivy_Bridge_PCI-Express_Scaling/
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  6. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thank you very much man,i m curious also wheither Shader Processors(curently 768 instead 1280) are affected by processor but i quess they arent since they are fixed on graphic card as an hardware part right??(dont laugh if its obvious ok)
     
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    No problem man. They are not. What you have to find out is how come they sold you a cut-down version of the 7850.
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  8. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Sounds like a 7830 concept or something.
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  9. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    723 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Hey no problem we are here to learn from each other, among other things.

    This
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  10. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Did this come with a computer you bought at a store? Prebuilt?

    I sincerely hope you are not paying this tech, you have all the support you need right here.
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  11. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    it was and it wasnt prebuild(i bought it from computer store,at first it was prebuild i5 but max they had was geforce 560ti but they said will see if can find newer card eventually that leaded to 7870 which was bit more expensive so i cut processor to i3,so it was changed prebuild i guess :))

    anyway,
    today came an tech guy he see articles you pointed out, used some applications and he agree there was something strange with the card(he doesent open the case tho) and suggested to contact sellers as they must accept return bad hardware,

    after contact the director he was suprised and say something of sort:does it play games??See if it plays the games thats the most important?? :wtf:Also say he wasnts going to be in town untill saturday and to use PC till then?But i think(after few hours) im going to pack PC up and wait till then.I thank you all for help.:respect:
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Take it back and then build your own if you can get the parts cheaper. You will know what hardware you put into your machine.
     
    vlatce says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    And the waiting Game Begin :lovetpu:
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,243 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,567
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i wonder if the "?" sign on Gpu-Z could display the "real" pci revision, like it do with the PcieX lanes ... (in my case i was having Pci-E x16 2.0 @Pci-E x4 2.0 and that "test" make it X16, normal since it shows idle states or powerdown states)

    but im just wondering it in his case it would say 2.1 or 2.0 instead of 1.1 (no need for 3.0 for : 1 i3 and 2 ... it not really worth it since the 2.0/1 rev is still more than enough for actual gpu)

    also 7850 OEM well its what you get when buying retail pc ... also you paid for a 7870? or you buyed a full pc that say 7870 on it? if so then you can make head roll :roll:

    otherwise : its your fault i hope you've read the spec of the computer before (if retail) or asked to see the box of the "7870" to the tech that assembled the pc:ohwell:

    edit: from what i've read form the last post from you ... welllllllll : double check is better ... also asking help from a friend who knows would have been a good idea, also im sure the i5+gtx560ti(if normal gf 114 not gf 110 oem) would have been better than i3+7850oem (since it seems that 7850oem perform just as a 560Ti ...)
    [​IMG]
    Just taking the 3dmark as exemple but in game GTX560Ti and this one are on par positive point for the 7850oem is less power consumption, but you lowered you cpu for a card that perform same as the previous one.

    performances rate (if GTX 560 Ti = 100% (GF114 based))
    660Ti: 129
    7870: 129
    6970: 117
    660 : 118
    7850: 110
    6950: 105
    560Ti: 100

    i guess that 7850 is lower than that (also keep in mind its only percentage)

    also third edit : i wish you all the best for the following steps (i hope you can get it right but i highly doubt it will be at the same price)
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012
    vlatce says thanks.
  15. joellim

    joellim

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    48 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    malaysia
    either way, if you've been promised a 7870, which is a competitor to the mighty gtx580, to this half baked 7850, which is a very generic mid range card, you've been short changed and better ask for a real 7870 and get your friend/technician to install it or return the whole unit back for a full refund.

    take brandon64hw's recommendation and pick your own parts and build it yourself. the first time you turn that newly built pc on with fans spinning and LEDs shining, will give you a feeling that is priceless~
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  16. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Look through the holes of your case at the side with a little lamp.... :|
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  17. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    vlatce says thanks.
  18. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,089 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    Location:
    Oregon
    I cant believe they didn't give you a parts list
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  19. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I thought such cut-down HD 7850-768 cards aren't for sale? Now they are, it seems. Though if the price is right, it's a pretty good videocard; it looks like it's faster than a HD 6870 and mostly on par with a GTX 560 Ti performance wise. The one that's shown at Tom's Hardware has 2 GB video memory on board too (AFOX brand, never heard of it).

    Any way, return the card, because the shop/retailer promised you the full-fledged HD 7870! That's a huge difference in performance!
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  20. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hi,thanks again for support guys,i write quickly(from net cafe) just to let you know they take the card back and i must wait few days they to order original 7870,i leaved mt pc there so i cant write offted on forum,see ya in few days.cheers:nutkick:
     
    Jetster and Crap Daddy say thanks.
  21. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    :toast:
     
    vlatce says thanks.
  22. vlatce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i owe you guy,you are monsters:rockout: today i got PC back and everything seems OKKKKKKKK

    here is the screenshoot:

    http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/12/06/5ms.png


    here are few thing i found out while i was at the pc store,and might help answer to some related questions;

    -ati 7800 series can function with full power with i3 proccesor,(i5 i7 will speed overal performances on pc or games but graphic card will not be any faster)

    -related to above is that 7800 series cards(although originaly PCI-Express 3 card) will also function without performances reduction on slots PCI-Express 2 x16 slot or PCI-Express 1.1 x16

    - here are device ID i have/had on both cards:
    Device ID 7850(Pitcairn PRO) = 6819
    Device ID 7870(Pitcairn XT) = 6818


    another thing that left doubt is:
    is there way to check if graphic card is new or already used??? Im suspicious that they give me alredy used card since it doesent have any CD or documentation(i asked them if they has it but they said it came with out them) and the paper case is kinda older like opened closed many times.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  23. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,243 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,567
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    good for you btw your finding is exactely what everybody said here since the begining (and also what i said about PciEx gen: useless atm 2.0/2.1 is enough for the current gpu generation)
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    well im happy about that pics ... it mean i dont have to change CG till 8xxx serie :D (ok i loose on the Watt/perf ratio :eek:)



    oh it seems more like a 7850 than a 7870 but 1002-6818 is 7870 DiD since 6950 is 6719 and 6970 is 6718 afaik (Cayman pro and Cayman XT)

    enjoy your full active 7800 serie

    (eh what? i should compare my 6950 to a 7950 to say i dont need a upgrade ? but i paid 80-90$ for my 6950 so even a 7850 will not compet in the price/perf ratio)
     
    vlatce says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page