1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can i plug a 3 pin or 4 pin into a 5 pin connector on the motherboard?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by stoggs1, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello everyone, yesterday i made a thread about my cpu fan being broke so i went and got a replacement fan today from my brothers place problem is its a 3 pin connector and the connector on the motherboard is a 5 pin. so would i be ok if i plugged the 3 pin into the 5 pin slot?

    and i also have a another fan that would work its 4 pin though. would that work in a 5 pin if the 3 pin dont?

    and one last thing the cpu fan had a broken blade so i broke the 2 more blades off to balance it out. would i be able to use it if the other fans i have dont work?

    thanks in advance.
  2. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,877 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,157
    Yes
  3. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks for the quick response, but yes to what? plugging a 3 or 4 pin to a 5 pin connection or using my original fan with 3 less blades?
  4. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,877 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,157
    Yes
  5. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes to all i assume? if i have to use the original fan will that decrease airflow? or would it be fine?
  6. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    995 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Yes
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  7. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok so will i be safe if i have to use the original fan with 3 less blades? the reason im asking is because the other two fans may not fit on the heatsink. i wont know for sure until i get home.
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,839 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,944
    5-Pin...I've never seen a 5-Pin fan connector on a motherboard. What board is this?
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,483 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,839 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,944
    Interesting, I just took a look, and it seems the extra pin is a second ground, and HP just bridges the Pin1 to Pin5, bridging the first ground to the second ground. Kind of odd.

    However, yes it does appear that a standard 3-pin or 4-pin should work with a problem. The only problem I can see is it looks like the little plastic blade on the fan connector on the motherboard might be too wide, preventing a smaller connector from being attached. But you should be able to bend that tab out of the way(or break it off, just remember which way the fan is supposed to go on the header).

    Those are Dell fans, HP uses a more standard connector, be it with an extra ground pin for some reason. See here.

    And the pinout seems to be the same as a normal fan as well, unlike the Dell ones that are wired backwards.
    xvi and stoggs1 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,483 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    The pin spacing is different IIRC.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so could i use the original fan until i get a replacement? With 3 less blades?
  14. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,483 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    ah, ok. I just read "5 pin fan" and inmediately thought of those Dell fans. Have never handled an hp server (it shows, right?). :eek:

    OP, disregard my comments. newtekie is tackling this one :respect:
    stoggs1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok thanks but is it possible to use the old fan?
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,839 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,944
    It is possible, if it is balanced enough, but I would only use it as a last resort. Try the other fans first.

    It's cool, when I saw the thread I actually through of those Dell fans too. I had to look them up as I've never seen them before either.:eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    why not just move the pins from the old 5 pin plug to the new fan just make sure you get the asignment right
    [​IMG]
    xvi says thanks.
  18. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So if i would have to use the old fan as as a last resort would it provide adaquite airflow?
  19. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    995 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Dunno, you will need a temp monitoring program.
  20. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok but it would be safe to assume that with less blades means less airflow
  21. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,483 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yeah, it's safe. Your CPU will get a little hotter and maybe throttle back but that's it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok if it runs to hot itll just shut itself off right to prevent damage? Its a xeon 5160. And if i have to use the original fan for a week or so will it ok?
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013
  23. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,483 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,030
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yes, it will first throttle to a lower speed, if that doesn't keep it from overheating it will shut down.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. stoggs1

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    61 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok a bit of an update. i have the use the old fan for now because the other 2 fans i got wont fit on the heatsink. the fan is spinning quite abit faster than before i can tell by the extra noise.

    and the temps are exactly the same as before but my cpu likes to get up to 80 degrees c on a full load which it has been doing even before my fan broke.

    so since i have been having this temperature issue for quite a while and my pc is perfectly stable even after playing intense games such as far cry 3, crysis 1,2 and 3, battlefield 3 etc, do i have anything to worry about? could the temp sensor in the cpu or mb be bad?

    i greatly appreciate all of your guys help with this issue.

    full hardware specs: two intel dual core xeon 5160 cpus at 3.0ghz, nvida gtx 570, 4 gigs of ddr2 ram, 740 gig hdd, 850 watt psu, rocketfish sound card.
  25. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,961 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,101
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I was just going to suggest this. I've done this with good success for power supplies.

    If you can, I'd just leave the CPU fan header unplugged and power the replacement fan off of a system fan header or 3-pin molex to 3-pin adapter. You'll most likely get a warning from the BIOS when you first boot up the computer that you'll have to "F1 to continue" when it boots, but it's a small price to pay.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page