1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I Run A GTX680 DCUII On A 650w PSU

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Dozzier, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. Dozzier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just bought an Asus GTX680 Direct CU 2 and was wondering if i could run it on my 650w PSU or would i have to upgrade to 750w or maybe higher?
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Should be no problems. What PSU is that?
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,859 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,961
    A quality 650w would have no problem running a GTX680. A cheap no-name power supply, I wouldn't trust it, though I wouldn't trust cheap no-name power supplies with an 8400GS...
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
    Aquinus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The 600s were designed to consume less power and produce less heat, you should be fine with a decent 650w psu, i run mine perfectly fine with my thermal take 750w psu.
  5. Huddo93

    Huddo93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    299 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    A proper branded PSU, something even like a OCZ/CoolerMaster PSU will be fine. You don't really need to look into the more high end brands if your budget is limited.

    It is true that the 600 series from Nvidia are very power/heat efficient so even though its the fastest Single GPU card (debatable I know) 650W is more than enough :)
  6. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    A good quality PSU as you've been told has no problem running it, even a quality 500/520/550W can run it just fine.

    My GTX 670 FTW runs perfectly well on my Seasonic X-660W no problems.
  7. Rei86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Wattage is not what we need, the brand name and model is so we can better help you.
    Aquinus says thanks.
  8. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    PSU wattage is not enough, what is important is the make and brand of the PSU. As long as it is a quality brand, like Corsair, Seasonic, XFX Core series, etc, you should be more than fine.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page