1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I run GTX 680 2GB and 4GB in SLI?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by JB00Junior, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. JB00Junior New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Guys

    So I recently just treated myself to a new gaming rig:

    Chassis: CM HAF 922
    CPU: i7 3930K
    PSU: XFX 1050 watt black edition 80+ Gold
    MOBO: Asus X79 Deluxe
    GPU: 2x EVGA GTX 680 SC Signature 2GB running in SLI
    RAM: 2x Kingston Hyper X 8GB 1600 kit
    HD's: PATRIOT PYRO 60GB SATA 3, and 2.5" SEAGATE 1TB 7200RPM
    DVD ROM and will get Blu Ray on pay day.

    I've just read a forum on the GTX 680 2GB VS the GTX 680 4GB as to which is more future proof. Some people feel the 2GB isn't enough vram for future games, as some games like metro 2033 allready uses like 1.9 gb vram, thus making the 2GB card less future proof than the 4GB version.

    My whole idea was to buy a gaming system that will take at least 3 - 5 years befor I need to make major upgrades to cope with the latest games of that time. However, when I bought my rig a few weeks ago, the 4gb version wasn't available in my country, (South Africa) so I got the 2GB version thinking that is more that enough. It will annoy the heck out of me if a powerful card like the 680 might suffer due to a lack of enough vram with later and more demanding games.

    My questions are, can I run, say another evga gtx 680 4gb card with my other two gtx 680 2gb cards in 3 way sli? and then just use the 4gb one as the dedicated gpu or what ever they call it? Also, is my PSU big enough to handle 3 way sli? CPU bottleneck with 3 way sli?

    PS, I'm using a 27 inch Samsung S27A950D 3D monitor. I play my games at 1080P and in 3D.

    Thanx guys
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    yes they should work in SLI, however you will limit the 4GB card to 2GB thus worthless to get one if you want SLI 4GB sell the 2gb buy two 4gb otherwise your wasting cash pairing a 2GB to a 4GB
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Just get another 2gb card. At your resolution, even with 3D the extra Vram will only slow things down a little due to higher latencies.
  4. oinkypig

    oinkypig

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    262 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    shenanigans
  5. JB00Junior New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I see, thanx. Don't really want to sell my 2 680's now and wait for 2 4gb's. This is Africa, things take 10 time longer to get here than they do in 1st world countries. Guess I'll just suffer a bit lower fps with my 2gb's cards.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Incorrect, with two 4gb cards you will get lower framerates. Minimal, but lower.
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    You mean he'd get lower fps with 2x 4GB cards in SLi than with 2 one being 2GB and the other 4GB? :confused:
  8. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    AIB vendor probably had to adjust memory latency on GPUs with 4GB because more memory puts more strain on the memory controller, it's something like RAM and CPUs, the more you add the more hard is to run at a certain speed/latency.

    In this article you can clearly see that there is not much of a difference (actually there isn't, because every test I checked yielded same performance at same clocks) between the GTX 680 and the GTX 680 4GB, be warned though, don't compare the two Palit's Jetstream because the 2GB version is clocked above reference and the 4GB version is clocked like reference, so compare the 4GB version with the GTX 680 reference, not Palits 2GB! :)

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/palit-geforce-gtx-680-4gb-jetstream-review/24

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page