1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can i run my old X58 RAM in a X79?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Live OR Die, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. Wumpus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    LOL you sire are VERY misinformed...

    Higher bandwidth is from the faster architecture of the memory controller...and does not make the ram draw any more current than it could from any other DDR3 DIMM in any other motherboard. It has absolutely nothing to do with the memory bandwidth.

    please google things before you post them if you are not sure.
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    LuLz.

    The memory controller is NOT faster. It's got twice the channels. Quite a few boards even have independant voltage controls for each bank of DIMMs.

    The efficiency of X79 is no different than SandyBridge. But, if we are talking about first-gen i5/i7 chips then yes, current draw can be higher. you don't magically get more bandwidth out fo the same product without increasing power consumption in some way, and the gen two i5/i7's offer nearly double the bandwidth. I didn't say the current draw is higher by double, but overall there is an increased load placed on the DIMMs which can affect stability at rated speeds.


    Um..yeah. Google? I tend to ask OEMs directly when I don't have an answer to a question.:laugh: If an OEM doesn't certify any product for a certain platform, you take your chances.
     
  3. Wumpus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    answers in bold
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Um, you do understand I do board reviews for TPU, right? I can provide more BIOS shots to prove my point, if you like.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • ai3.jpg
      ai3.jpg
      File size:
      162.8 KB
      Views:
      445
  5. Wumpus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    YES it has twice the channels of sandy bridge.

    YES it is faster by a LONG ways than first gen i5/i7 CPU's
     
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    like it matters if you do board reviews for tpu,it doesnt make you any smarter than the next person..you really should quit talking yourself up when your not really that great :)
     
    Wumpus says thanks.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    YES, there is independant voltage control per bank, and

    YES, there are individual current settings per channel even.


    And finally.

    Yes, and load in increased, power consumption increases? Are you going to try to tell me that DIMMs get hot under load for no reason? :laugh:

    Thanks for the feedback. You're more than welcome to take my position if you can do a better job. ;)
     
  8. Wumpus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am telling you that a triple channel kit from X58 will NOT draw any more current on X79 than it did on X58.

    Like wise, i am also saying the opposite. Memory IC's only draw so much power, no matter the platform.
     
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    thanks for the offer dave but i would prefer to get paid for my work:)
     
    Wumpus says thanks.
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, but that is dependant on the load they are under.

    I was offered pay and turned it down, so I can always claim I won't be bought. ;) If you're not good enough to get pay from TPU, then that's something else. :laugh:
     
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700

    So since your tpu's elite motherboard reviewer,are you going to CES next year?
     
    Wumpus says thanks.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nope. I don't have time for that. :laugh: Being elite and all.:roll:
     
  13. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    Dont have time or not allowed in the states? All the elite people will be there:toast:
     
    Wumpus says thanks.
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Well im going to get some new ram they just got the G.Skill Ripjaws Z in stock not sure what to get though any ideas?

    A.
    G.Skill Ripjaws Z F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH (4x4GB) DDR3
    Quad Channel Memory Designed For Intel X79 platform. Intel XMP 1.3 Ready. DDR3-2133 PC3 17000, 16GB (4x 4GB), 9-11-10-28-2N, 1.65V, 240pin, unbuffered, Non ECC, 42mm height, lifetime warranty.
    $219.00


    B.
    G.Skill Ripjaws Z F3-17000CL11Q-16GBZL (4x4GB) DDR3
    Quad Channel Memory Designed For Intel X79 platform. Intel XMP 1.3 Ready. DDR3-2133 PC3 17000, 16GB (4x 4GB), 11-11-11-30-2N, 1.6V, 240pin, unbuffered, Non ECC, 42mm height, lifetime warranty.
    $209.00
     
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    your ram will work,just have an extra sticks.
     
    Wumpus says thanks.
  16. Wumpus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    use old ram, and have a good day.
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The position of being an independant reviewer is more valuable for me. Why a reviewer would want to cover news from a trade show...I'm not sure. That's for the news staff, IMHO. I'll get the stuff to play with eventually anyway...rather than the tease.

    I have the first set. When retail CPUs are available locally, I'll be posting a review. Personally, I'd rather have the lower voltage set. Timings won't make that large of a difference in daily usage.
     
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    lol i went for the top set >_< but i guess u can always run the top set at the same timing as the 2nd set right?
     
  19. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    Funny our elite motherboard reviewer is sold on marketing hype. just because memory isnt tested on a specific platform doesnt mean its not going to work.
     
    Wumpus says thanks.
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure, but I'm not sure they'll work at the same voltage yet. They could even be an entirely different IC, pretty sure there's 3 possibilities right now. I know what ones my kit has.

    I didn't say that...I just simply said there is a chance they won't. It's only $200 bucks, what's the big deal? When you're spending $1000 already for a good board and CPU...

    I mean really...$200 for 16GB of 2133...that's guaranteed to work. Try to RMA memory that doesn't work, for whatever reason...OEMs can simply answer that it wasn't intended for that platform, and you're SOL.
     
  21. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    Theres always a chance that memory isnt going to work even if it is certified to work with a platform,ive had mushkins that were made for X58 not work at all but worked fine on a p55
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Well that's just it. Small price to pay, when the cost is high to begin with. The warranty for the operation for the platform is worth the cost, IMHO.
     
  23. Wumpus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    his point is that if it works, why buy more stuff that you arent sure works?
     
  24. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    i sell my body parts for this, so $200 matters a lot.
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    What's he gonna do, buy one stick? OR lose 1/3rd the memory performance? He's gotta buy something.


    Perhaps P67/Z68 is for you then. :laugh: Socket 2011 is overkill for the average user.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page