1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can i use sata2 hdd?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by HiddenStupid, Jul 25, 2009.

  1. HiddenStupid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    if my system use sata1.... can i use sata2 hdd? compatible?
     
  2. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,573 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Should work. If the motherboard doesnt support SATA II, then it will just run at SATA 1 speeds.
     
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,063 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    sata like pci express is backwards compatible it just runs at a lower speed it you use it on sata1

    a bit like i said pci express that if you use a pci ex 2.0 compatible card it just runs slower
     
  4. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Yeah, dont know if they still do it some hd's would need a 5,6 pin jumper for mobo's that used sata 1.5 I had that issue once like 4 years ago
     
  5. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    newer mobos are improved nowadays LOL, no need to set to master, cable select, or slave
     
  6. coodiggy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    458 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Yes a SATA II disk should work at SATA I speeds.

    Some disks need a jumper installed to use 1.5Gb (SATA I) instead of 3Gb (SATA II)
    Some SATA controllers do not support auto-negotiation, and some SATA II disks do not have a SATA I jumper...


     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2009
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    NO NOT THAT LOL some older boards would not work with sata2 speeds for some reason so you would have to use jumper pins 5,6 on the hard drive to limit it to sata1 making it compatable with those newer drives:toast:
     
  8. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    those disk that dont have a SATA1 jumper has a switch in the firmware, much like BIOS has for enable and disable SATA etc, so those disk has some software that needs to be booted from CD

    but they are rare so ;)
     
  9. HiddenStupid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    oh ok. well instead of making a new thread.... ill ask another question

    is it worth to save 5.00 bucks for extra 50 watt?

    550w for 52.00

    or

    500w for 47.00

    concider the brand is the same just the watt difference.







    ps. wow i drank 7 glass of home made margarita mix. i was pretty buzz when i post here. after i post.... i went outside and go grazy. running and screaming. two chicks happend to be on the neighborhood....... took me a while to realize they were there. they seems to mock me when they walk foward across me... by walking like a dolphin up and down up and down. i smile at them. i kept telling myself to maintain. afterward i hit the shower and sleep on the tub for 5min. got up and microwave my left over starbucks americano coffee. after drinking coffee and shower now i feel better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! not drunk! not buzz! i am in control of sanity!
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2009
  10. coodiggy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    458 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    what brand? 550W +1 your stuff can only draw so much, but a little headroom is good to have.
     
  11. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    do the 550 its only 5 but worth it
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page