1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can my 850W PSU run HD6950 CrossfireX?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ripsky4501, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. ripsky4501

    ripsky4501 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello all,

    My question is:

    Can my 850W (Corsair TX850) PSU comfortably run my system if I get another HD6950? Here are my current specs that run fine on this PSU:

    ASUS P67 Sabertooth
    Intel Core i5 2500k
    16GB RAM (4 DIMMS)
    Radeon HD6950
    ASUS Xonar DG audio card
    4 HDDs
    7 120mm case fans

    Please let me know how sure you are about your answer as well as why/how you are that sure.

    Thank you!
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,602 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,991
    Yes. I am sure because I'm basically using the same setup. Never pulls more than 600w with everything overclocked. If you read the specifications of the hardware power requirements and PSU you'll see that it is indeed sufficient.
    ripsky4501 says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,867 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    As erocker said, should be fine. If you OC too much, then yes, it might, might be a concern, but new PSU, new rig, stock, for sure it is enough. I run 2600K and dual 2GB 6950's on Silverstone Strider GOLD 750W.
    ripsky4501 says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,602 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,991
    Meaning over 5ghz on the CPU and over 1ghz on the cards. Otherwise you should be good.
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,867 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,944
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :laugh:

    I DID say MIGHT...twice!

    :laugh:
  6. Akrian

    Akrian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    TX850? well it can run 480s in SLI ( tested), 4870x2 in crossifre X ( tested), 580s in SLI ( tested), 5870 in crossfire + 8800gt for physX ( tested). So yes, you can run a second 6950 with your eyes closed.
    ripsky4501, Evolved and Red_or_Dead say thanks.
  7. ripsky4501

    ripsky4501 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks guys. It looks like I'm purchasing another one!
  8. commission3r

    commission3r

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    without a sweat, chek my speks
    also attatched r 2 wd velociraptors in raid 0 + 1tb hitachi hdd
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes it will be fine
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I bet it would still be fine. I pulled a MAX at the WALL of ~800W with 2 6950's (flashed to 6970) at 1Ghz+ cores... 2600k was sitting at 5.4Ghz with HT. :toast:
  11. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    WHAT??? I have 2x6950 on a CM Silent Pro 600W and holding without a glitch:eek:check the sig...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page