1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can my computer handle this card?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by JanJan, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    the card i want to get is ATI RADEON 4870

    my mother board is P5LD2-X / 1333
    power supply is AP-550X (V-500) (500 watts)
    RAM: 2GB (PC2-4200 240 pin)

    i'm currently using a gefore 8400 GS. Will i be able to use the ati radeon 4870? If not can anyone recommend any next in line card?

    thanks
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    IMO I think you would be fine, UNLESS you don't have the necessary 6pin connections. How high do you overclock your cpu if any?

    EDIT:
    Oh and the PSU in question, isnt it a Coolmax?
    JanJan says thanks.
  3. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    what cpu are u using¿
    JanJan says thanks.
  4. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    i didn't overclock my cpu and yeah the it's a coolmax V-500

    and what is the 6pin connections? :p

    edit: my cpu is 2.2 ghz i think. If i overclock it, how high should i go?
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    JanJan says thanks.
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    are the pcie cables that come out of your psu. the 4870 requires 2 of them
    JanJan says thanks.
  7. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    yeah can you pls recommend me a psu?
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,690 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    US
    Keep a eye on it in summer time my 600w had a issue of overheating and would shut off around 370w usage. All though i think it be ok just watch out when it gets ho unless you have a air conditioner or it's cooler were you are..
    JanJan says thanks.
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the best options are this and this
    JanJan says thanks.
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    JanJan says thanks.
  11. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    640 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    It's a very long card too. You should make sure it fits in your case.
    JanJan says thanks.
  12. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Rather than upgrading your PSU for a video card that would be underutilized in your system, go with a less powerful video card.

    If you are looking at ATI cards, something along the lines of an HD4830 or HD4850 would do fine. Waiting a bit, the HD4770, which is coming out soon, would also be another good alternative.

    Any of the cards I listed should work fine with your current PSU, and would be a better match for your system.

    Just my $0.02...
    JanJan says thanks.
  13. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    troyrae360 and JanJan say thanks.
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Of course you can get adapters, but there are only 4 Molex on the power supply, would take all 4 to power just the card alone.
    JanJan says thanks.
  15. skycrane

    skycrane Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    remeber, dont skimp on the power supply...

    it it was me, id go with the PC&C myself.

    for the difference in price between the 4870, and the 4830, i would not trust the adaptors to run them when your psu new cost less than the cards.

    if i remeber right, the 6 pin is rated for about 75w, the 8 pin is rated for 150w, and the molex are only good for 25w. if i were you, i would NOT use the adaptor.
    JanJan says thanks.
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I got that topower Jr linked
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817101021
    It's in my HTPC, powers my Phenom II 920 and HD 4830 OC very well. I highly recommend it!
    And like another user said, the 4870 are LONG. It will fit all mid tower cases but I think you would have some trouble in a micro ATX case!
    JanJan says thanks.
  17. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,068 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2009
    JanJan says thanks.
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I used some molex to sata since I have a DVD drive and a blu ray drive in mine.
    JanJan says thanks.
  19. vladmire New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    118 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    minimum psu for 4870 is 500watts, afaik. getting a higher rated PSU would suffice for future upgrades.
    JanJan says thanks.
  20. Rock God New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
  21. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    What is the model name of your CPU, is it a Pentium D, Core 2 Duo, is it single core, dual core. Without these bits of details we can not determine whether your PC will be bottlenecked.

    To be frank sitting at 2.2 GHz whether its a core 2 Duo or Pentium D, the processor is far too slow for a 4870, You'll be better off buying a ATI 4670 or ATI 4830 as you will not see 50% of what the 4870 has to offer!!

    I wouldn't contemplate running a 4870 unless you are prepared to upgrade your CPU.

    Download CPUZ it will tell you the exact name of your CPU:

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
    JanJan says thanks.
  22. Rock God New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    ^^ Yeah you need a fast/good CPU to pair with a high end GPU ;)
    JanJan says thanks.
  23. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    He doesn't need a high end cpu to use a gpu. He just won't see 100% of the performance that he could. I think he should get the card then upgrade the cpu later unless he can afford to get a new psu and cpu and gpu.
    JanJan says thanks.
  24. Rock God New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Yeah, I'm talking about 100% performance. I'm saying is, if he wants full potential over his GPU, he'd need a good CPU.
    JanJan says thanks.
  25. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    True but I wouldn't skimp on the gpu just because the cpu isn't fast enough because in the future he will end up paying more anyway if he does that.
    JanJan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page