1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can my i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz be compatible with nVidia gtx650 graphc card

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by waynecwj, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. waynecwj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Anyone know?
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,714 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    The CPU shouldn't be any problem with the graphics card, but you need to make sure your motherboard has a PCI-E x16 slot that you can insert the GTX650 into. Most motherboards that support that CPU have a PCI-E slot, but you should check before buying the card.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,804 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    929
    yes. your case might be an issue if standard or slim/low profile. then you would need a low profile type gtx card.
  4. waynecwj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    okay, thx guys.
  5. waynecwj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    How do i check whether i have PCI-E x16 on my pc?
    psyko12 says thanks.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,714 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    Best way is to open the case and look.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,512 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    i suggest u hire a professional.
  8. jcgeny

    jcgeny

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    155 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    it s a very good idea , what is your mainboard ?
    if your pc is a portable/laptop then you should check carefully and select compatible card : if your pci-e is MXM A or B
    B handles all kind of cards , while A are smaller at power limited to 35 watt .
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_PCI_Express_Module
    on ebay there are some MXM A at very good price . i updated my touchsmart hp cpu and vga for 300 euro and it is a big change for this 3 years old TV-email Pc
    with few new heatsinks it became more silent
    [​IMG]
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,066 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    safest way especially for this kind of question
  10. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    usually near pciex slot it labelled or just check the manual, its there
    maybe you just think it would bottle neck the performance?
  11. waynecwj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    How does the PCI-E x16 look like?
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Read your manual if you are unsure... Or Google. Seriously... Give a man a fish or teach a man to fish...
    THE_EGG says thanks.
  13. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    like
    [​IMG]
    come on, take a look at your motherboard. just read your manual its there

    Attached Files:

  14. True Christian

    True Christian

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Oshawa, Canada
    Does your BIOS give you the option to boot from the PCI-e slot? If not then you don't have 1 but I think yours does. Your CPU is still very viable. Why not go with a Radeon R9 280X or a 2GB GTX 760?
  15. waynecwj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    im 16, i don have that much money
  16. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    Your question is so basic I don't have confidence that you have the technical knowledge to do the upgrade without damaging your system.

    You are 16, you are in the technology generation. Simply typing "PCI x16" into google images would have showed you what it looks like.

    This is a hardware forum, we are here to help, but I'm not going to spoon feed you.
  17. True Christian

    True Christian

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Oshawa, Canada
    C'mon, guys and gals. Let's not troll on his thread. He's just learning about computers. Do you people remember the seemingly asinine questions YOU asked when you were just starting out?
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,066 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,373
    I read tons of books before the internet became another tool at my disposal

    id suggest looking up how to build a pc to help you determine whats what in a pc
    Z77 says thanks.
  19. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    885
    I agree. I learnt to build computers when I was 12 years old in the 56k dialup modem days.

    I used to read computer books and I subscribed to many PC enthusiast magazines to keep on top of the changes. By the time I was ready to build I knew the fundamentals.

    The OP hasn't come back, its been 3 months. He is gone.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page