1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can NForce boards do XFire?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Atnevon, Sep 21, 2008.

  1. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hello TPU,

    So I am putting together cometition builds for a small website (design class). I wanted to make the most uber pwn machine, that I guess would compete with Alienware.

    Now on the Alienware site, it makes me choose a 790i mobo. No problem there. THe only issue I am wondering is why it allows for your GPU selections to include Xfire setup. Even consisting of a Duel 4870x2.

    From my understanding, NVidia boards did not allow for you to use any XFrie card setup, and just allowed SLi. Did something change, is there a specail tweak, or is Alienware incorrect on their site?

    -Andrew
  2. OverclockedBoo

    OverclockedBoo New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    OEMs (Alienware) use a custom BIOS to allow Crossfire on an NVidia mobo.
    Atnevon and KBD say thanks.
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I would've said no but i had no idea Nvidia lets Alienware & other OEMs make custom BIOSes for nforce. Thats news to me. Thnx for the info.
  4. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    So I could take a guess and bet it is locked down to overclocking? Would this keep still a single 3870x2 from running on a standard board due to the GPU nature?
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I want a custom bios :cry: As far as I knew they used x48's for the crossfire systems but thats what I assumed since it was a natural choice obviously for a mega super expensive alienware xfire system
  6. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    damn!:roll: is this true?
  7. OverclockedBoo

    OverclockedBoo New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    Quote from Velocity Micro:
    "Thank you for contacting Velocity Micro. The setup we have (Nforce mobos w/
    crossfire) works through drivers that ATI has supplied us. This is only
    available through certain OEM builders like ourselves. We do not offer any
    crossfire specific motherboards at this time. If you have any other
    questions, please let me know."


    Here's another example:
    http://www.engadget.com/2008/08/12/alienware-debuts-radeon-hd-4870-x2-equipped-gaming-rigs/
  8. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    retrieve the BIOS and upload to the masses!

    but serisouly no - why would you want an alienware apart for its case?!?!?

    can build one cheaper and better
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I'm pretty sure there will eventually be more motherboards out which will be SLi and crossfire.
  10. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,979 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    805
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    nvidia are apparently allowing sli on a intel chipset i think its sli ship on the graphics card or summit
  11. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,428 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Nehalem boards will have this I believe.
  12. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Generally, no you cant put two Ati cards on a Nvidia chipset.
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have read it can be done but I wouldn't try it myself I would just get a xfire board and be some with if.btw it is hard to type on an iPod toutch
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    439 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Thats what I am doing. Comparing on my website what I can compete against, and beat it. Though I am not really building now, I can show people instead of telling them for 12 hours about the components.
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    its not the mobo BIOS its the drivers for the VGA that will allow it
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I remember a while back there used to be custom drivers to allow xfire i'm sure.
  17. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    I have custom BIOS from the HP Blackbird that allows it for the Striker Extreme to have SLI and Crossfire. It isn't entirely just drivers either, the BIOS plays a roll.

    I haven't tried it yet though.
  18. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    They can with hacked BIOS' installed (Ive seen it done) But, to be honest, its not very stable.
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    It was the other way around I think, SLi on any chipset. As for Crossfire on SLi boards, I'm still looking for the article about it.
    DrPepper says thanks.
  20. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I think your right there :p Either way sli and xfire could be used on one chipset with a mod
  21. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I know it's been done, just trying to find the article on it is really annoying me. I swear it was Xbit Labs but I can't find it. :(
  22. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It would have been really good on say an x48 board :D
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,486 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,727
    Yes, it is possible to enable Crossfire on an nForce chipset. It is more than just drivers though, the motherboard needs a custom BIOS that allows Peer-to-Peer writes over the PCI-E bus.

    Edit: Here is the anandtech article about Crossfire on the 680i chipset in the Blackbird 002. http://www.anandtech.com/systems/showdoc.aspx?i=3094&p=3
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2008
    p_o_s_pc, OverclockedBoo and DrPepper say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page