1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can two Sapphire 7970 OC edition max all games on a 2560x1600 single monitor?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Phusius, May 18, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Assuming you OC to say 1150/1650 which is pretty easy to do on that card

    lot of reviews show 7970 CF blow 680 SLI away and a single 690 away.
    Last edited: May 18, 2012
  2. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Wait, what?
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Can two Sapphire 7970 OC edition max all games on a 2560x1600 single monitor?
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    Black Panther says thanks.
  5. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    HD 7970 in Crossfire is ahead by 23% over the GTX 590.
    HD 7970 in Crossfire is ahead by 35% over one HD 7970.

    GTX 680 in SLI and GTX 690 are ahead by 25% over the GTX 590.
    GTX 680 in SLI and GTX 690 are ahead by 42% over one HD 7970.

    A factory-overclocked HD 7970 is behind by 6% over the GTX 590.
    A factory-overclocked HD 7970 is ahead by 8% over a stock HD 7970.

    Assuming ideal parameters and scaling is constant (bet. stock and overclocked Crossfire setups), we can extrapolate that:
    Factory-overclocked HD 7970 in Crossfire is ahead by 25% over the GTX 590.
    Factory-overclocked HD 7970 in Crossfire is ahead by 38% over one HD 7970.


    And the "Wait, what?" reaction is more of the fact that you already have a GTX 680, and it would be easier for you to get another one instead of two HD 7970s. There's a reason why there are a lot of HD 7970s and not a lot of GTX 680s, and it's not because of "production difficulties."
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    playably? no
  7. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    yes you can max every game ever made with no problems with just 1 HD7970.. ive played ALL of the so called system killers.. none defeated mine on a single monitor... so all you need is 1 HD7970 and you can max ALL games if you use single monitor...

    ill challenge any game requests though that say the HD7970 can NOT max a certain game with a single monitor. im looking for the very best graphically complex games. highest polygon counts per character/object is a must.
    Last edited: May 18, 2012
  8. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    erocker please close this topic and any topics I may have open, I no longer will be posting on these forums.
  9. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    ROFL!!!! why? i may have read it wrong but either way i couldnt help myself but laugh immediately.
  10. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Hard Reset? Dragon Age II? Metro 2033? Total War: Shogun 2? Battlefield 3? Crysis 2? Batman: Arkham City? Just Cause 2? Skyrim? The Witcher 2? All at least 60fps?
  11. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    i dunno I just have no use for these forums anymore
  12. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Guys, stop being assholes. And entropy, just shut up.

    In a lot of games the 7970 scales much better than that. The performance summary is kinda destroyed by the likes of BF3 and Skyrim. Generally it does very well and it will max out games at that resolution.
    radrok, LifeOnMars and Lionheart say thanks.
  13. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    maxing for me means an average of 60 FPS and a min of 45. Crossfire 7970s cannot maintain that in metro 2033 - they have an average of 39 fps, which means the game drops to unplayable levels in certain scenes. Thus you just lost your challenge.
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    For some it means 30+ FPS. ;)

    But Metro is heavy, I'm not sure anything can max that if you want 60 FPS.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  15. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    :laugh::laugh: Frick being a prick. :laugh::laugh:

    You know Frick, you should seriously considering changing that F into a P. You're approaching d.d.d. levels already.
    qubit says thanks.
  16. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,211 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,436
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    7970 crossfire is very powerful.

    BUT, crossfire doesn't always work and that's the massive problem. SLI tends to work better but you'll probably get micro stutter either set up

    But like folk have said, you have one 680, get another, that will perform very much the same.
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    You were wrong. I mean if you would've been right I would have agreed with you, but you're not. I assume you took those numbers from the performance summary pages? BF3 and Skyrim shows zero gains from crossfire, while other games scale quite well. So it is flawed. It depends a lot on the games you play.

    EDIT: And frankly I'm offended at the notion I'm like DDD. I'm WAAYY more irrational than he can ever hope to be.
    Last edited: May 18, 2012
    qubit says thanks.
  18. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    439 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Arcadia
    its right tell him go with another gtx 680, but bring out with this numbers without show a real bench with 7970 oc in crossfire vs gtx 680 sli its not good , if we have to write without prove well i can tell you i have 300000000 billions € inside my bed xd , dont make nvidia fanboysm him just ask a simple question xd
  19. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    I don't blame you man, there's a lot of egotistical douche bags on here now :banghead:
    qubit and DannibusX say thanks.
  20. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    i honestly was just hoping an admin was closing this topic... i didnt want to start a flame bash heh.
    Lionheart says thanks.
  21. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I wouldn't take it so personally. People are just stating facts (For the most part)

    In short bud.... Yes 2 HD 7970's OC'd to those speeds would max out all games at that resolution. (Not including AA in some though Example Metro 2033). But you would get the same results from a second GTX 680 (and actually a little worse when it came to higher resolutions and AA)

    Both are great cards and either way you go the performance is so close you won't be able to tell the difference. If you are asking because you want to buy the HD 7970..... I would sayu go where your pocket book can take you.... and enjoy :)
    Lionheart says thanks.
  22. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Why not go for a third card at that resolution? That's where the scaling hits with tri sli or crossfirex, not worth it at lower resolutions. Yes you may have driver difficulties for some games with a third card but generally it's going to be with the less demanding games which only need the one or two any way so just disable for those.
  23. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    i got all at 60FPS except i didnt try shogun2 yet nor metro 2033 on my 7970 but i got 30 fps on a hd6870...
  24. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    i may not beable to maintai na solid 60 on metro but i can get to 60 no problem on a single monitor.... no game atm can bring down my system with a silly single monitor configuration it is laughable at best.
  25. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    throw a hybrid physx card in their and see how metro runs , maxd 5870's xfired and at1000 core do well 40-50 fps max IQ ,with a physx boost so the same would apply to 7970's, i got a cheap gt240 for that(52 quids), but batman AC is pushing me towards a 560 soon,:)

    and thats ultra settings + morpho AA + physx high
    phanbuey says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page