1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can U Help Out

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Mr.mightyflims, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. Mr.mightyflims New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What Graphics card Can Run Battle feild 3 and new games with good setting and can hold dual monitors
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,456 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    7970 or 680 :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mr.mightyflims New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thanks You i will check it out
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,159 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Don't forget you need a powerful processor.
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I have a 7950, and it is quite a bit of overkill. 16xAF 8xAA, everything maxed 1920x1200 and 60FPS. (maybe more, I am not sure)

    7870 could max this game I am certain also. Hell, if you werent worred about the AA, you could max it with a 7850.

    My vote? 7870, for cost per performance on the high-performance end.
  6. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    I would def lean toward the 7970 for best bang for buck on a card that can do what you want, but get a non reference one with twin fan cooler. The 7970 will easily OC past the 680 and has 3GB mem, which will help for your needs.
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2012
  7. UbErN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    257 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Ingerland
    My 7950 can OC past a 7970 and 680 with ease and is quite a bit cheaper than both, defo more bang for buck imo
  8. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,744 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    No do believe in, not in BF3.
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,159 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    There are a lot of nuanced settings which can make this true. Smart compromises will not cut down quality much while still delivering lots of fps.
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    the resolution of the 2monitors?
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,769 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,824
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    But he said everything maxed, and I know for a fact, no matter what CPU or whatever you got, that you will NOT get 60 FPS with just one card, and not even a sustained 60 FPS with 2, although it will be close most of the time. Not even high will see 60 FPS all the time...nothing does.


    One card on Ultra averages 55 FPS, sits @ 58 or so most often, even with new "performance" beta driver

    Of course I do play the game every day now for several months on a 7950, plus have benched on many many systems.

    0xAA, sure.

    2xAA, nope.

    4xAA, furgeddaboutit

    8xAA...sure, if AA is broken. :p


    AA is the one setting I turn OFF to get 60 FPS. ;)

    Would you like video? lulz. I have over 500 hours in BF3 now, and like 200 of them using HD 7950 @ 900 MHz(no OC).


    that said, I'd still recommend the HD7950. :roll: Let's just keep it real though, mkay?
    MT Alex says thanks.
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,159 (5.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    He probably did not maxed everything out then, but I wonder what OP wants in "good setting"
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Where do you have in BF3 8xAA?
  14. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    Yeah i never saw a stable 60fps in bf3 at 1920X1080 with an overclocked 7970.. with 2.. well yeah i rarely see anything under 100 these days, and i think i average about 120 or so
  15. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    I would trust a 7970 to play BF3 with high settings and good frame rates consistently before I would a 7950, and that OC you spoke of will still be beaten by a 7970 given equal versions of each card.

    A lot of people talk 60 FPS in BF3, but as mentioned they don't go into details about FPS dips and any settings compromises they're using.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page