1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can you replace an image on ImageShack?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Akumos, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    Hi All

    I have uploaded an image to imageshack and point to it on many websites. How can I update that image without the URL changing?

    I have to ask here because even though I have a premium account with them, they haven't responded to my support question.

    Thanks!
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,165 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,042
    You would need access to the hosted file of the image, which means you would need full access to Imageshack's server that the file is hosted on. Not going to happen.
     
    Akumos says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    You would think they would have a feature for this! Seems like such a simple thing to do.
     
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,586 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,213
    Can't you remove the image and upload the new one with the same name?
     
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,165 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,042
    the URL would change. I think the OP is trying to change an image he posted on several different sites at it's source without having to change it on each site.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    Upload a new image then you will have to change all your links
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,531 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If you've uploaded it as a registered user, you can go to "My Images," delete the image you're going to replace, and then upload its replacement with the same file name. If not, no.

    Edit. Even if you were to upload a new file with the same file name, it would have a different path. So, no.
     
  8. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,634 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,329
    It can be done only if it's your own host/ftp. Imgur, imageshack, photobucket, techpowerup etc .. won't let you do that.
     
  9. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    Ah that sucks! Thanks anyways!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page