1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can you run a power supply upside down?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JC316, May 25, 2007.

  1. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    I don't really see a designated UP, but I am just checking to make sure. I want to turn it upside down so I have a better place for my cables.
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,406 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    yea. i have done it...works the same ;)
  3. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    sure, i build computers with upside-down psus all the time, i have to when the case's psu mount is at the bottom.

    HOWEVER, the mounting holes on the psu/case are not simetrical. the case needs to have reverse mounting holes in order for the psu to be mounted upside-down. you can drill your own (obviuosly) if you want.


    chris
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    I have 5 cases and they all are interchangeable.(upside down or right side up)

    PS ..lol the rig in the sig isnt even in a case
  5. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i have seen some very nice mods with the PSU moved onto the top of case and the wires looked very sharp. they had totally opened everything up with plenty of room inside with just that simple switch. the old PSU hole was used for exhaust fans which pulled air right off the CPU. I have no pics though.
  6. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    You can also drill the holes on the PSU and put it outside (i' ve done a pic for ya)

    [​IMG]

    It looks good doesn't it? :D
  7. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    yes it work's but the negitive ions will be positive vise versa just don't ever hit it with a hammer while its on.
  8. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    :eek: They will? or you're joking?
  9. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: lol:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
  10. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,406 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    [​IMG]
  11. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes i'm joking :)
    I run mine upside down no problem if you got room for it to breath.




    sorry I'm a smart a$$

    but still don't hit it with the hammer ok
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    just watch where you put your intake/exhaust fans ...
  13. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Oh NOES!! hahaha
    nice pic!! XD
  14. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Ok, i'll consider the hammer part xD did you liked my model? (outsider PSU)
  15. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    I would like to try that I have an antec900 with 4 hard drives that would give me a lot more room.
  16. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    I've done it myself to improve cooling ^^ airflow is greater o/
  17. thrazt New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    won't the weight of the PSU outside the case affect anything? just wondering :)
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    yeah the weight will rob teh mega h00tz ...
  19. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    It won't, I've already done it before :D
  20. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yeah it wont electronically, but how about the centre of gravity of the case? Lemme see.... if I had a 1200W PSU on the outside...and a light case and some hardware, add a CNPS7700CU...
  21. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Omg xD If you worry about that, put a brick or too on the drive bays xD
  22. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    You Can't Run A Power Supply Upside Down Or All The Electricity Will Fall Out, Everyone Knows That!
  23. thrazt New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    what the......how electricity fall out??? enlighten everyone please! hahahhas....anyway....anyone knows whats the reason for running dual PSU...why do u wan to do that...and is it good?
  24. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,401 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,483
    Some do it when using SLI to have a PSU dedicated only to the graphics cards, and the other PSU dedicated to the system, if you're very picky or have a couple less than capable of running the system solo would be the only reason I can see. But PSU's are getting cheaper for good quality so I see no sense, but I'm not running 2900xt's or 8800Ultra's in Xfire/SLI either...
  25. thrazt New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    hmm...okay...solely powering GPU...woah..i prolly wont have to worry bout that until i change my mobo and get another GPU =)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page