1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can you split the 4 pin 12vATX to 2x2 pin 12vATX connectors? ( 6950/Power supply )

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Saakki, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Okay so the problem is that my Antech Earthwatts 500w has only 2x 6 pin PCIE 12V connectors and 6950 DirectCU 2 need 6 pin AND 8 pin and bright people from ASUS did only give a 2 x molex to 6 pin converter with the card so I cannot plug in my new graphics card. And yes the 500w antec should be enough I have checked.

    So I have one 4 pin 12vATX connector like this: [​IMG]

    ,and I'm thinking about splitting it to two 2 pin 12vATX so I can fill the two holes that are left empty after connecting both 6 pin connectors to the graphics card.

    I couldn't find a answer anywhere that is this safe to do? Thanks! :pimp:
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    no. they sell 6 pin to 8 pin converters look at one of those. be careful pulling that much juice off of one set of molex's .
    Saakki says thanks.
  3. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Can you tell me why it is not possible? ( Thanks anyways )
  4. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,020 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    How about using something like this?



    [​IMG]
    Saakki says thanks.
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    FYI; Those extra 2 pins in the 8 pin PCIe power connections are both Ground. Not a 12v + Ground.
    Saakki says thanks.
  6. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Ummph so the hell why does not the 6 plus 6 setup only work? Could it? ( And yeah I know those connectors exist but just wanted to know if that 4 pin could be utilized ..but apparently no.. :/ )
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That maybe a question as to possibly needing more current being pulled acrossed more connections.

    Get the couple 6 to 8 adapters and you will be set. :)
    Saakki says thanks.
  8. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah Its only 2 euros so ordering one now. Thanks fellas!
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Like was said they are -12v's not +12v's not to mention pulling power off of you cpu's VRM's is a terrible idea even if they were +12v's. With your board pulling off of the EPS 8 pin that 4 pin pulls from the same location and is not designed to pull that kind of load.
    Saakki says thanks.
  10. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah thanks for clearing those out..not gonna go "evil genious" on my PSU then. Will see if I get a new PSU or the converted because 500 antec is on the edge with overclocked 6950.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    no more so than what I run.

    Xeon X3440@4ghz
    2x2GB DDR3
    GB Mini ITX
    GTX 470 oc'd
    H70+ultra kaze
    450w SFX silverstone
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Doesnt the GTX470 consume even more power than the HD6950?
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,340 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,360
    Location:
    IA, USA
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    yup by a good smidge IIRC :laugh: however his Q6600 probably consumes more juice in every way shape and form than my little bitty chip.
  15. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    The extra two conductors in the eight-pin are grounds, and in the case of the 6-pin to eight-pin adapter are connected to two of the existing three grounds. The do not supply any more ampacity, and, if I am not mistaken, simply are 'sense' connections.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page