1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can you use either AMD/ATI or NVIDIA regardless of the rest of your components?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by vawrvawerawe, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Like if you have Intel processor and motherboard, you can still use AMD/ATI like Radeon HD, just the same?
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yes, there is nothing that will prevent you from using one or the other. nVidia and AMD/ATi cards will work on any platform that has the proper bus (and practically every motherboard has PCI-E nowadays.)
     
    vawrvawerawe and TheLaughingMan say thanks.
  3. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Ok, that's what I thought. Thanks for the help.
     
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,202 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Look at your system, it has got an Intel CPU and chipset and nVidia graphics. Answer given. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    i somehow feel that you are trolling :p

    are you making posts just for the sake of reaching the particular number required for you to be able to post in BST forums? you were asking around at GN

    i dont mean to be rude...
     
  6. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    No not at all. I am building a PC and I don't even know what BST forums is. I am trying to get the knowledge necessary to build my own PC. Also having a good time. I don't care about post count.
    Before, I was on the Computer Forums and another one, but responses were quite infrequent. I still like that forum, but this forum seems to be giving me the most benefit so far. It's nice to finally find a forum which gets lots of good info and a great community of good people.

    As for asking about the buy/sell forum, it takes 14 days and it has nothing to do with post count anyways.

    No, I knew NVIDIA and Intel goes together. I just wasn't certain about AMD/ATI graphics and Intel. But now I am, thanks to you guys.
     
  7. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,202 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Both Intel and nVidia are in the graphics market. This and what I said before, plus some logic leads to the answer.
    Not for being rude or so, I just want to turn on a handy little machine all (wo)men carry around. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    [​IMG]
     
  9. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
  10. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    I got an AMD CPU and Nvidia GPU

    Soon to be Intel CPU and Nvidia GPU
     
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    At one stage AMD had nVidia chipsets on their motherboards.
    Fortunately nVidia chipsets were discontinued.
     
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Fortunately? My nForce 750a SLI was one of the better chipsets I've used. Definitely better than my old Intel 975x Express. nVidia really didn't do a bad job with their chipset IMHO.
     
  13. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Nvidia makes better chipsets than AMD,thats for sure.
    Untill recently i was the owner of a 790fx motherboard and i was very disapointed,still got an nvidia chipset running in an athlon rig and it dosent skip a beat.
     
  14. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    The nForce chipsets I had all ran hot.
    I have two nForce chipset boards for 939skt and one 680i.
    The 939skt ones were fine but were so hot they needed a fan which if started to fail was hard to replace.
    The 680i was like a mini heater which eventually failed despite decent cooling and it's mammoth heatpipe layout.
    Most of the laptops I had to work on which failed were nVidia chipset based.

    Yes a 750a SLi chipset is always going to be better than a 975x chipset.
     
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,308 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    yep, mine overheated constantly, it was a nightmare. funnily enough it has larger cooling than my current board :laugh: Since changing to SB it's been smooth sailing

    but when it worked 750i was truely great
     
  16. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    That's not exactly true.... for example...some older AMD CPU's will not have support for Duel Nvidia Video cards/SLI.

    But I will say that overall what you said is fairly accurate.
     
  17. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,308 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    SLI and crossfire are different, he is just asking about single cards which makes everyone correct :)
    :toast:
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I mentioned nothing about Crossfire and SLI :laugh: and it's really the motherboard that offers the SLI/Crossfire support, not the CPU. :cool:
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page