1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot Create Thrid Partition 3TB Drive

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Guyonskis, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. Guyonskis

    Guyonskis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I made an impulse buy of a Seagate GoFlex External 3TB drive. I didn't really need or want an external but when I looked up the internal version of the same drive it was $80 more (Seagate Barracuda XT). So I decided to take off the adapter and use it through Sata as an internal. When I went to format the drive (Vista 64-bit) I discovered that it was already partitioned into 2 partitions of unequal size (700GB and 1.3TB) and about 800 GB were unallocated. I was able to format the partitions however Disk Management is not letting me create a third partition with the unallocated space (grayed out). I also cannot make extended partitions or convert to GPT (also grayed out). I also tried deleting the smaller partition and increasing the size but it told me it is already at max.

    Any ideas why this is happening? Is it because it's not GPT?
    What is required to convert a drive to GPT?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    you cannot boot from a GPT disk afaik. therefore you cannot convert it as it would make windows unbootable..... assuming windows is installed on that 3TB HDD.

    EDIT
    after having another look at it, i dont think thats what your trying to do,

    to fix the problem the easiest and safest way,
    Delete the partitions you have created so far.
    right click on the left most part, where it says Disk0.
    select the GPT option.

    EDIT2

    the disk needs to be in GPT mode before you create partitions.
     
    Guyonskis says thanks.
  3. Guyonskis

    Guyonskis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry, I didn't specify. I already have two 320 drives in a raid 0 where my system is installed. The 3TB is just for additional storage (see image).
     
  4. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Fixed my post :p
     
  5. Guyonskis

    Guyonskis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so there cannot be existing partitions to be able to convert to GPT? Silly of me not to try that right away. I'll try it tonight if I can, or tomorrow afternoon.
    Is there anything else I should know?

    EDIT

    Lol I just saw your second edit.
     
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    yes, you should wait 5mins before reading my posts as i edit them often :p
    EDIT:

    should be pretty straight forward once you delete the partitions it should give you the option to convert to GPT and the rest is easy from there.
     
  7. Guyonskis

    Guyonskis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cool! Thanks for the quick reply. I'm excited to try, I want to call home and get someone else to do it for me :laugh:

    Oh, another thing. I installed various programs that monitor HDD temperatures and none of them are picking up the drive or my other internals. Should I keep trying other software or will nothing pick it up? If you use one, which do you use?
     
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Aida/Everest or HWmonitor should pick up every sensor your system has, i however would not worry too much about HDD temps, as long as there is some airflow nearby they will be fine.


    i have herd the best temp range for HDDs is more then 30-40 degress c... less then 50-60c. lower temps seem to kill HDDs much faster, or so i have been lead to belive due to the Oil/lube inside them not working as effectively.


    i have no hard confirmed facts or links, but a quick google should bring you some results.
     
    Guyonskis says thanks.
  9. Guyonskis

    Guyonskis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    HWMonitor didn't work, but I'll try Everest.

    The reason I'm concerned is because this drive is known to go over 60 degrees in the enclosure under heavy use. I haven't taken it out yet since I still might return it/use it as an external and I didn't have to because of the design. :eek: The enclosure is really tough to get off and I didn't want to break it.
     
  10. Guyonskis

    Guyonskis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GPT conversion worked after I deleted all the partitions. Thanks!

    Everest didn't pick it up either. Do all hard drives have sensors?

    Now that I got it set up... What free backup software would you recommend? Or should I not bother?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page