1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot find drivers

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by techbuzz, Mar 30, 2007.

  1. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I recently purchased the following computer: http://support.gateway.com/s/pc/R/1009452/1009452nv.shtml

    This computer came with Windows Vista installed and I immediately brought it home and installed Windows XP on it. Well, when I went to search for the drivers on Gateway's website, they only had Vista compatible drivers listed. I called Gateway about this issue and they told me that they couldnt help me because they only support Vista related problems on my particular machine.

    Here is the motherboard in which I need XP drivers for: (I don't think it's even available in the US)
    http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERBD/Shared/4006157R/4006157Rmv.shtml

    Gateway tells me that the mobo is made by ECS, but I cannot find that motherboard listed on the ECS website.

    I am desperate... I am not ready to switch to Vista.

    Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. prime95 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    166 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    you cant find it on ecs' site probably cause its built specifically for gateway. i've heard alot of bad stories about people doing what you did, and companies now saying they only support vista... which is a load of crap.... i can't think of any way to help you, but i do hope someone else may be able to enlighten the subject.
     
  3. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    I would go the nVidia site and dl the Platform/nForce Drivers for Xp for the 430/410/405/400 chipset. You will prob. end up with LAN but prob. not sound. If you don't know what components are on your board dl this from here at TPU: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/84/Everest_Home_v2.20.html
    look through it and go get you drivers. Easy stuff man. :)
     
  4. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I attempted to download the chipset driver from Nvidia's site:
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_nf4_winxp32_8.26_11.09.html

    When I ran the installation, it acted like it was installing and then it prmpted me to restart. I proceeded to restart me computer and when XP loaded again, it was like nothing happened. I was still missing my chipset/lan..etc drivers.

    I was very upset because this particular installer was suppose to install all the drivers except for the sound. I cannot figure out why this didn't work.
     
  5. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Have you identified the different components on that board? It seems the nVidia drivers are not for your LAN chip. DL Everest, look through it and go to the proper mfg. sites for the sound, LAN, and what not.

    If you have looked through Everest (or a simmilar program) what does it report for your LAN and sound?
     
  6. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I'll look through everest tomorrow morning and I'll post back. THanks for the help.
     
  7. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Ok. I have checked Everest. Here are some screen shots:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This was the only place that I could find any mention of an ethernet controller:

    [​IMG]

    Any suggestions?
     
  8. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Have you run the Vista compatability wizard on your PC, go to the MS website, and it will tell you if your system is compatible, and which hardware devices that it doesn't have drivers (stock vista drivers on the vista DVD) for.

    Edit:
    Alternatively, if you can borrow someones copy of Vista, the wizard is included and runs in the autostart when you insert the DVD. You can then workout if it will work on your system or not.
     
  9. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I am not trying to upgrade to Vista. I am trying to locate XP drivers so I can switch to XP. But it looks pretty much impossible to track down the correct drivers so it looks like I have to stick with Vista on this machine. Thanks anyway. I am going to keep on looking though. Serves me right for buying a Gateway to save time when I should have just built my system.
     
  10. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
  11. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    The only thing Everest lists for audio is, "High Definition Audio Controller."

    [​IMG]
     
  12. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    You can always get out a flashlight and look around the board for the various chips. I bet you have Realtex sound. If it's saying HD audio that is real good. I am looking through Everest here, seeing what I can find.
     
  13. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    What does it say under Computer/Summary in the tree?
     
  14. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Here you go:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    When you go Gateway site to dl drivers does it give you any clue as to what sound chip it is? I would dl to my desk top and explore the sound drivers, even though you are not after the Vista drivers you may be able to figure it out that way.
     
  16. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    If you get the LAN working go to MS update. Sometimes it reports back sound driver dl's.
     
  17. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    At the gateway site you linked us to there is a link on the right side to "SCAN Your PC" in order to identify drivers. Have you tried that option. If you have Windows XP installed on it may link you to the XP drivers. Of course it may also link to vista only drivers.

    Your mobo is an ECS MCP 61pm Ax. It is not available to the public, as it is an OEM gateway board. Try this driver REALTEK HD audio Driver 1.58 (5371) 2/12/07

    http://64.124.27.138/ecs/driver/mb/sound/realtek/ALC880.zip

    This should do the trick.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2007
  18. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
  19. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Ah, my bad. :ohwell: Didn't read it properly. You want to change to XP? Unusual as most try to go the other way, from XP to Vista.
     
  20. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I guess I live by the philosophy of not changing something that works fine already. Plus Vista still has many flaws. I am sick and tired of Microsoft shoving everything down the consumers throats. Honesty, I am looking into using a good version of Linux as we speak.
     
  21. maxextz

    maxextz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    drivergeniuspro

    try drivergeniuspro.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2011
  22. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Just an update:

    I was able to track down the appropriate drivers thanks to Namslas90!!!

    Thanks to everyone for all your help.

    Well done.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page