1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot get my PC to detect Nvidia Graphics Card Tried Everything!

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by VIRUShooter, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. VIRUShooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I just upgraded to Vista SP2 from no service pack and now my PC cannot detect my graphics card. It said it cannot detect any when I upgraded to SP1 so I uninstalled nvidia drivers and upgraded to SP2 and tried to reinstall but can't even install them now. I have really tried quite everything :banghead: I even followed all steps perfectly from
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502 Didn't work
    Please Help Me!

    My System Specs are

    Operating System – server roles
    Windows Vista Home Premium Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
    Install Language: English (United States)
    System Locale: English (United States)

    System Model
    MAXTONE 945GC(HIS) 3.0
    System Serial Number: 1131
    Enclosure Type: Desktop

    Main Circuit Board
    Board: MAXTONE 945GC(HIS) 3.0
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 080012 05/05/2008

    Processor
    2.20 gigahertz Intel Pentium Dual
    64 kilobyte primary memory cache
    1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    64-bit ready
    Multi-core (2 total)
    Not hyper-threaded

    Drives– drive encryption
    250.05 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    87.21 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space
    MOSER BAER DH-22A8S ATA Device [Optical drive]
    WDC WD2500AAJS-07M0A0 [Hard drive] (250.06 GB) -- drive 0, s/n WD-WMAV26631916, rev 01.03E01, SMART Status: Healthy

    Memory Modules
    3584 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
    Slot 'DIMM0' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum00)
    Slot 'DIMM1' is Empty
    Slot 'DIMM2' has 2048 MB (serial number SerNum02)
    Slot 'DIMM3' is Empty

    Controllers
    IDE Channel [Controller] (3x)
    Intel(R) ICH7 Family Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF
    Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family Serial ATA Storage Controller - 27C0
    NVIDIA MCP61 Serial ATA Controller
    NVIDIA nForce 430/410 Serial ATA Controller
    NVIDIA nForce 590/570/550 Serial ATA Controller (2x)
    NVIDIA nForce4 Serial ATA Controller

    Display
    None discovered

    Bus Adapters
    Microsoft iSCSI Initiator
    NVIDIA nForce 590/570/550 Serial ATA Controller
    NVIDIA nForce RAID Controller
    NVIDIA nForce RAID Device
    NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller
    NVIDIA nForce(tm) RAID Class Controller
    Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 27C8
    Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 27C9
    Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 27CA
    Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 27CB
    Intel(R) N10/ICH7 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 27CC

    Multimedia
    High Definition Audio Device
    WsAudio_DeviceS(1)
    WsAudio_DeviceS(2)
    WsAudio_DeviceS(3)
    WsAudio_DeviceS(4)
    WsAudio_DeviceS(5)

    Communications new – connection speed & status
    6TO4 Adapter
    Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    ↑ Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller

    Other Devices
    Standard PS/2 Keyboard
    Microsoft PS/2 Mouse
    USB Easy Transfer Cable
    USB Root Hub (5x)

    Pics of my Device Manager and Nvidia Installer

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. VIRUShooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I dont even have any Display Devices on my Device Manager. I had the same problem before and had installed Install_Vista_6250_11182011. The Nvidia drivers could install after that but I couldn't enter the settings because it could not detect any graphics card. It showed Display devices at that time and also showed my graphics card GTS 450 below it but with an exclamation. I have tried scan for hardware numerous times, tried searching for hardware updates but all are up to date. Right now when I double click on Nvidia in my Device manager, it says
    "This device cannot start. (Code 10)
    Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available." for all.
  3. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    217 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Romania
    From what i see your computer needs a full reinstall. Threre are two kinds of chipset drivers intalled as your chipset can't be intel 945+ich7 and nvidia nforce5xx at the same time. There is something wrong with windows thus a reinstall will probably solve your issues.
  4. VIRUShooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Can't I do something from the BIOS? Please I just do not want to reinstall windows right now.
  5. VIRUShooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Windows itself suggested me the Install_Vista_6250_11182011 drivers so I guess its okay to install them and then I'll install the nvidia drivers and see what I can do from the BIOS

    Installed 'Install_Vista_6250_11182011' then ran windows update. It installed some Nvidia RAID but now I'm not even able to install the nvidia drivers Great! Windows update really F***** my computer
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  6. VIRUShooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Shut down, opened cabinet, disconnected graphics card, plugged the monitor to mobo, rebooted, uninstalled all Nvidia from device manager, restarted, shutdown, connected graphics card, rebooted, (nothing on the screen), shutdown, plugged in the monitor to graphics card, rebooted, tried to install, still the same problem!
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,679 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    has the video card ever worked in this machine?


    also, zsolt is right - you've listed specs for multiple machines at once, which cannot be correct. we cant help you without accurate information.
  8. VIRUShooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yes it was completely working with the latest drivers before I installed SP1. Believe me the info is correct and taken at the same time by Belarc advisor at which I snapped those pics (I cut out the name of my PC). However I have uninstalled all the nvidia drivers from the Device manager. Right now I tried to install previous drivers but still the same
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,679 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    you're telling me you have 6 northbridge chipsets/SATA controllers?



    there is simply no way this information is correct. it looks like you've grabbed an operating system from another PC and tried to use it on your current one, and its all gone to hell.
  10. VIRUShooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No please trust me. Those drivers were installed by mistake during windows update. I had never even seen those before in there. And as I wrote above whenever I clicked them, I got the message
    "This device cannot start. (Code 10)
    Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available."
    So they never even installed properly I guess and it was probably a mistake by windows to download and install those updates. But they are uninstalled and gone now. If you need, I can run a belarc test right now and post the results and even post current pics of my device manager.
    I even clicked to find a solution online but it just searched for updated drivers and told me that mine were up to date.
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Rewrite windows
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,679 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    the very fact that they're showing up in the device manager means something is really wrong, you're not understanding.


    *drivers* do not show up in device manager. detected hardware does. windows update and driver installers will not make this happen. somehow, your windows install is really, really screwed.
  13. VIRUShooter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yeah I guess i understand now. Some wrong software messed things up. It is working on inbuilt video adaptors right now. I have some work pending so as soon I finish it, I will install Windows 7 though I didn't like it last time(not performance, the interface) but windows 8 is too far away so will have to do with 7. Anyway thanks a lot for helping me or I would've spent so much more time trying to make it work.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page