1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot start GPU-Z 0.7.8 automatically with Windows 7

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Munich63, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. Munich63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GPU-Z works fine when I start it manually. I really want it to always start with Windows 7, but it won't. I've tried installing it with that option checked. I've tried putting a shortcut to it in my Startup folder. Nothing works.

    Ideas would be welcome!

    My system specs:
    Lenovo T420 laptop with built-in Intel HD Graphics 3000
    Windows 7 (64-bit, SP1)
    Norton Internet Security, but I find no indication of it blocking GPU-Z

    By the way, this is the only GPU meter I've found that recognizes my graphics card! Good work!
     
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,472 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,610
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    open a Run... prompt and type in msconfig

    Go to startup tab and check it's in there, and ticked.
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,975 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,798
    GPU-Z on-startup installs itself into scheduled tasks, check if the entry is there.

    need to use scheduled tasks to avoid uac prompt, because it runs as admin
     
  4. Munich63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the quick replies!
    Situation 1: When installed to startup with Windows, it appears neither in scheduled tasks nor in msconfig.
    Situation 2: When installed without checking that option and then I manually place a link to it (set to run as administrator) in the Windows Startup folder, it does appear in msconfig -- but it doesn't really start, meaning that I can't see anything.

    I suspect there is a conflict with my startup-manager utility, WinPatrol, especially in Situation 1.
    Another suspect is a another recently installed temperature monitor, this one for the CPU instead of the GPU, namely Core Temp 1.0 RC6.

    Right now, I will continue starting GPU-Z manually as needed.
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,019 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,731
    Location:
    US
    Just remove that what you added to start up and run GPU-Z and right click the top and it will allow you to add it to startup.
     
  6. Munich63 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Works like a charm -- Thanks!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page