1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cannot update BIOS Gigabyte 585OC

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jojesa, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. jojesa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    When I run the Gigabyte VGA@BIOS flash utility it displays "Unknow" under Bios version (see image below).
    Does anyone here knows about this or how to go about it?

    I also noticed that when I run the Gigabyte flash utility a process called ATIWinflash.exe opens up.

    [​IMG]
  2. hrvoje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    63 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  3. jojesa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    I was able to get Gigabyte flash utility to see the card (it needs admin privileges to run).
    Now I had bigger issues, the computer went to reboot and it got stuck in a blank screen. :banghead:

    any clues?
  4. hrvoje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    63 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    blank screen where..?
    before logging into Window or right away when you turn it on...
    ...may be drivers... try to boot into safe mode and reinstall them
  5. jojesa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Right when I turn on the PC.
    The screen is dark but all fans are on and power light.

    If I have another VGA card on the same system could I try flashing the card again?
    How will I do this?
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2010
  6. hrvoje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    63 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    If you have another VGA or on board graphic,
    you can flash right bios with ATIFlash.
    You'll need to make bootable usb stick and just copy atiflash and right bios on it.
    When you wright in Dos "atiflash" it opens all options and parameters...
    I think its: atiflash -p -f 0 biosnama.rom
    Where 0 is number of pci-e slot,
    With atiflash u can also read in what slot is which card.
    jojesa says thanks.
  7. jojesa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    I ran ati flash:
    atiflash.exe -p -f 1 biosname.bin
    I get this error 0FL01

    Do I need to enter ROM or BIN at the end of the bios name?
    The bios I got from Gigabyte doesn't have either bin or rom at the end
  8. jojesa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    I was able to fix the issue :nutkick:
    I installed another VGA card to the PCIe 0 and the bricked card to PCIe 1

    Created a bootable USB and copied ATIFlash and the latest Gigabyte BIOS update.
    A the DOS prompt I typed atiflash.exe -p -f 1 biosname (note that the gigabyte BIOS does not have either .bin or .rom at the end. so I left like that)
    After that the BIOS update worked :rockout:


    The fan still loud at 55% but now it has power management.
    The GPU goes all the way down to 154MHz from 765MHz.


    Thanks for the replies
  9. hrvoje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    63 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Glad you solve it.
    I have reference VTX3D 5850
    It also went down to 154Mhz but I had some problems in Desktop and some games menus, so I raised 2D Clock to 400
  10. jojesa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Thanks for info on previous post, that helped a lot :toast:
    The BIOS update (F4) and the new drivers (10.4) fixed several issues I had.
    The only issue left is the fan speed I cannot control. I runs @ 55% all the time :eek:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page