1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cant BIOS mod any higher voltage... help

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hat, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,303 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Ohio
    I want to get my card clocked higher than it is now, but in NiBiTor, I can't select any higher voltage than what I'm already at. All I get is ?.? past 1.32 stock.

    I would just do the pencil mod but I'm afraid to since my PCB doesn't match the example in the 8500gt vmod guide.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    This makes two of us. Which Manufacturer is your card from? Mine is PNY.
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,835
    Maybe if you could get some high res. photos of the PCB, maybe the guys here could at least get you looking at what to measure to find out.
     
  4. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=53522
    Post #19

    You should probably DL them, as they look a little fuzzy on the page. In Nero Photosnap, you can read most of the resistor #'s. Sorry for the pic's. It was dark, and I had to use the camera's flash. I will try to get better ones later.
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,835
    nice pics but I mean pics that are like say 2000X2000 pixels....something that alows a really close up view!
     
  6. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    Well, I have a 4.1 MP camera that I think the focus is going out on. Not sure, but I will try to see if I can get better ones
     
  7. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    See if these are any better.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,835
    those images are great...now lets hope someone wha can make heads or tails of em stops in!
     
  9. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    Yeah, hopefully. But I will admit, this isn't all that important to me. I am just trying to get the info out there for the people who want to know. I haven't found much on the 8500 series. Especially on cards that don't follow the Gigabyte card design. I plan on upgrading in the next 6 months, though. But I always try to help when at all possible. Thanks for trying! Hopefully we can get something done with it, and help the people out there who are stuck with this card.
     
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    from my experience (have done a physical vmod) the bios vmod did squat, i measured vcore under 2d and 3d with a stock volt bios and a modded voltage bios and there was no difference whatsoever.

    if you really want to turn up the volts do the real deal, its actually really cheap you just have to be confident you can do it without deep frying the card.
     
  11. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    That is what I figured. But any idea where the points on the board are? Also, if the resistor mod is easier, post a pic of what the resistor stripe pattern.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page