1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't boot from DVD drive

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Jmatt110, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    Hey guys,

    Just tried to boot off my dvd drive when I noticed that it won't let me. After looking in the bios, turns out that it dosn't even see the dvd drive, yet it works fine once in windows. Any ideas? System in system specs. DVD Drive is a Pioneer DVR-215.

    Thanks, Jmatt
     
  2. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    I had this problem before with a sata dvd drive in my bios, whats your sata set to run as in bios ? also do you have jmicron controller im sure when I enabled that in the bios it fixed my issue.
     
  3. twilyth Guest

    Don't take this the wrong way, but I didn't think it was possible for a drive to NOT show up in bios and yet be seen by windows. Were you looking for it on the main (standard?) bios page or in the HDD section or boot sequence section? I'm really sorry for asking this, but you're blowing my mind.

    I'm assuming it's an internal drive. An external USB drive won't show up in bios unless you look in the USB devices section.

    Again. Apologies.
     
  4. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    I've looked on every page of the BIOS, nothing. Also, pressing F8 during boot up to select the boot device won't show it there either. Yes its an internal drive.
     
  5. twilyth Guest

    That's a first for me. I have no f*ckin' idea.

    I mean, the bios is the firmware layer between the hardware and the OS. So how does the OS see something that the hardware doesn't?

    If you figure it out, I'll be very interested to know what happened.

    Good luck. :toast:
     
  6. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    try setting sata to ide mode
     
  7. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    Tried that, still nothing.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,372 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,677
    some motherboards come with more than one SATA controller.

    usually you can only boot from the first, main one.

    EG, my board has 6 intel (bootable) and 2 JMICRON (not bootable)
     
    Jmatt110 says thanks.
  9. twilyth Guest

    Good point, but I think he's saying that the bios doesn't see the DVD drive nowhere, nohow - to put it in technical terms. ;)
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,372 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,677
    which is possible if the second controller is in RAID mode. You ever ran a system with an add-in RAID card? they dont show in the BIOS, they have their own menu/POST screen after the main one.
     
  11. twilyth Guest

    Oh damn. You're right. And I should have thought of that because I have the same issue with my old Adaptec AHA-2940W SCSI controller.

    RAID is against my religion though so I guess I didn't make the connection.

    Thanks. :toast:
     
  12. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    Jmicron is bootable, but you need to enable it in the bios iirc only reason I know is cause when its enabled it takes longer to boot and I have to "press any key to continue" at the prompt
     
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,702 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,667
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Is your controller in RAID/AHCI modes? If so, the DVD drive will be listed as a separate device in the list of available boot devices, not as "CDROM". Remember that when setting boot device priority. Otherwise, read the manual to see which hotkey during POST brings up the boot menu that lets you select which device to boot from. Even here, the drive will be listed separately, and not as "CDROM".
     
  14. twilyth Guest

    I think he said it doesn't show up in the boot menu. I know that with an add-in card that's std operating procedure - at least the old stuff I have. But for something integrated into the chipset, IDK. i really need to get up to speed on AHCI.
     
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,702 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,667
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Maybe he's trying to select "CDROM" while his controller is in RAID/AHCI mode? Because that wouldn't make the system boot from the DVD drive (unless the controller is in Native IDE mode).

    Anyway, here's what I'm trying to show:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  16. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Mussels, completely forgot about the second SATA controller. Plugged it into the Marvell controller instead of the AMD one and it showed up fine in the BIOS and boot menu :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page