1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cant boot from SSD on new rig?!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by ManillaForce, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. ManillaForce

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    31 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    So I currently have a 240GB Kingston 3K SSD on Computer A. I also have a HDD installed on Computer A. They both have Win7 installed on them. When I boot I'm given a choice which SSD/HDD to boot from. (AHCI active, etc) Everything works.

    Problem:
    I put SSD from Computer A to new computer, Computer B, and get "please select proper boot device and press any key" when I try to boot. The SSD is recognized in the BIOS and is the only boot device in the new computer! How do I get it to boot?! :banghead:
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    make sure that computer b is set to AHCI, if it isn't, windows wont boot, if it is, try doing a repair from a windows install dvd
     
  3. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I'm pretty sure you have to do a fresh install if you move it from one computer to another.
     
  4. ManillaForce

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    31 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Already tried that, didnt work
     
  5. ManillaForce

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    31 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Why would I have to do a fresh install in order to boot?
     
  6. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    SSDs work differently from traditional Hard-Drives. It is the only thing i can think would be the problem.
     
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,040 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Okay first. Are you plugging in both SSD and HDD in the new computer? Are you using a new motherboard in that new computer?
     
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,087 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    Location:
    Oregon
    Easy....When you formated the SSD in comp A you have a second drive connected and that drive has a boot sector. W7 will use the boot sector of any drive that is connected. So the SSD drive boot sector is on the other drive.

    When installing W 7, Do NOT have another drive installed. W 7 will write its boot to the other drive
     
    ManillaForce and silkstone say thanks.
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,087 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    Location:
    Oregon
    Cause your boot sector is on the other drive. But even if that wasnt it silkstone is correct in that anytime you change motherboard you should fresh install. It may work but your at higher risk of driver conflicts.


    Sorry about the double post :wtf:

    So start over. Fresh install
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2012
    ManillaForce says thanks.
  10. ManillaForce

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    31 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Is there a way to re-install the boot sector to the SSD without reformatting?
     
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,040 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No.
     
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,087 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    Location:
    Oregon
    You could try a W7 disk and do a repair but you still have the issue of the install is from another motherboard. And its a SSD so Im sure you dont want to take up more space then needed.


    Clean Install
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page