1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't Boot To Windows Or Installation Disc

Discussion in 'General Software' started by DaveK, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Hey guys, I have a strange problem here. Turned to my PC as usual today only for it to act funny. When I
    first booted up and got to the desktop nothing worked, the wireless didn't connect and when I clicked an icon it froze. I opened up the task manager to fixed RAM usage constantly at around 950MB and CPU usage at 1%. I rebooted and everything was fine, then Apple Software Updater wanted to update iTunes then froze my PC. I rebooted again to get the same problem I had the first time. After a few more tries I restored to when I uninstalled Microsoft Security Center or whatever, only to see a blank white screen instead of a desktop. Tried safe mode and it didn't work. Sometimes it would get stuck on the welcome screen when booting normally. I tried the Windows disc and it would get to the background but the menu wouldn't show up.

    I reset my overclocks and tried booting with one stick of RAM, still nothing. Any ideas?
     
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Could be failing HDD. If you've got a spare HDD, install OS on that. Then plug in your other HDD in Windows and run your favourite SMART monitoring program.
     
  3. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    I appreciate what scaminatrix said, but there may be a less (or no) costly solution since you've obviously got another internet connected device. Download a live distribution of linux, or the UBCD (ultimate boot cd).

    These two options will allow you to manually test things like the HDD, RAM, and scan windows for corruption errors. Just make sure the optical drive (or usb) is set to the primary boot device in the bios.

    What you've described could be way too many things for anyone to know what is going wrong without some more info. Do some testing (HDD and RAM are easiest), then get back to us.
     
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,550 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    ^ I would do that. It's free to do to do. Well at the cost of one CD, and that's like 2p.

    Though maybe consider the hard drive failing, however I would think you have seen signs of failure before it just going completely on you.
     
  5. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    It might be possibleto check if the HDD is at fault by disconnecting and attempting to get the windows disk to boot to menu.

    I think it's more likely to be a failure on the mobo, caused by either the mobo itself, or faulty PSU or loose plug.
     
  6. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I'm unable to boot to the Windows disc so installing to the second hard drive I have is not an option. I have also unplugged the drives from the PC ruling them out, the problem still persists. I ran the Ultimate Boot CD and done a RAM test, nothing failed.

    That leaves the motherboard, processor and PSU. I don't see why it would be the PSU though, it's only about 18 months old and isn't pushed to the limit. The processor and mobo on the other hand are quite old and have been used in overclocking a lot.

    It's still a very weird problem. After the Windows logo comes up the screen will just stay black with the mouse cursor on the screen, Safe Mode is the same as is the Windows installation disc even with the hard-drives plugged out. Something tells me I'm just going to have to do an overhaul, it's still going to cost around €250 so it's not a cheap fix.
     
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Tried resetting CMOS? Long shot, but well worth a try.
     
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,785 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    might be failing anything that is playing with the OS through its driver

    might be the South Bridge dying, if not the HDD
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page