1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't connect to the Internet, local connection only??

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Melvis, Mar 17, 2014.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi guys,

    I have a laptop here that refuses to connect to the internet over Wifi. Ethernet works fine but once I try to connect wifi it only connects as a local network without the internet.

    I have tried a few different things like reinstalling the drivers, changing a few different settings in the registry but with out any luck.

    Can anyone have any ideas? i have the flu at the moment and I just cant think straight and I need this fixed and out the door asap.

    The laptop is running windows Vista 32

    :toast:
     
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,791 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    have you tried manual connection?
    set your ip and dns from control panel.
    conflict connection?
     
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    More information about the laptop would be nice.
    Hardware? Type of wireless card? Does wi-fi get an IP or does it default to a 169.x.x.x address?

    More info about your router could be helpful as well.
    Model? Wireless configuration?
     
  4. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Australia
    yes, doesnt work


    Acer 5315
    Athroes and it doesnt get an ip address.
    NA as my router is fine not the issue
    Standard, set to auto.
     
  5. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    845 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    390
    Location:
    south korea
    try rebooting router. If your IP start with 169.x.x.x, then it doest get correct IP address.
     
  6. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    197 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Try disabling any security on your router, and then reconnect. make sure your router has 802.11 b/g/n compatability turned on.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Try changing the wi-fi channel. The adapter might not like the one your on. Some of the cheaper wi-fi adapters I've used have sometimes had this kind of problem.

    By the way, no IP is the same as getting a self assigned 169.x.x.x address.
     
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Australia
    Im not sure what you mean about the channel?

    The laptop came in because it wasn't connecting to there wifi.

    Im pretty sure its a Vista issue, I really hate vista lol
     
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,374 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Melvis says thanks.
  10. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,791 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    what about using ip v4 only and disable ip v6
     
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,557 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    IA, USA
    1) Make sure the wireless isn't off. A lot of laptops default to having it off and you have to push a button to turn it on.
    2) Try different drivers. Check Asus website first, Athroes second.
    3) What Black Raven said, see if it can connect to an unsecured network (strongly suggests a driver issue).
    4) Investigate the wireless adapter physically. If it is on an add-on card, make sure it is securely inserted into the slot. Examine it for physical damage and make sure all the labels on it match with what Asus claims it to be.
    5) If you have a USB wireless dongle, try it and see what happens.
     
    Melvis says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    845 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    This ^. Have you tried any other wireless devices?
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This. It will answer many things.

    If a different device does work, it's probably a driver issue or (albeit unlikely) a hardware issue with the wi-fi. Although, I'll admit, I had a router where it's ability to transmit went to crap but receiving was fine until the unit died not too long after it was barely working.

    If a different device does not work, it's probably Vista, maybe something like the DHCP Client service isn't running, which would explain why you're not getting an IP.
     
    FX-GMC says thanks.
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Does other devices using the same WLAN connect and browse the internet fine? Could be an issue with your router.
     
    FX-GMC says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    845 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Agreed, but I meant more along the lines of completely different device, like a phone or a tablet, so we could rule out the router.

    I missed that part, thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2014
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Right, but he said it didn't work on the client's network or on his network on wi-fi, but did work on ethernet on his. So if it didn't work on two different wi-fi networks, I'm more inclined to think that isn't the case.
     
    Melvis and FX-GMC say thanks.
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for the tips and that program is a nice little tool but still didnt fix the issues. Ive gone through all the other steps also and still no luck.

    Tested that didnt work

    Done and checked all those also still no good and I dont have a wireless dongle sorry.

    it connects to the internet just fine using Ethernet.

    Yes, its not my router as I have other laptops and my smart phone connect to it at all times, move away from the router, its not the issue here.

    Also checked the DNS client and service and all is up and running fine. Im going to uninstall kaspersky and see if that is the issue next. Otherwise im lost.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  18. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    845 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Could just be a dead wlan card.
     
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,557 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    IA, USA
    That's what I'd conclude too.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah it sure could be, just uninstalled kaspersky and still the same issue =/

    Ill see about the registry one more time then im calling it.
     
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,273 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I would call it now. It sounds like the transmitter on the wi-fi transceiver failed to me.
     
  22. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,374 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Sorry it did not work... yep it is a nice tool and has a small footprint.

    I am leaning with the few previous posts and thinking the WiFi card is dead, dying, or, you may want to try reseating the card, if possible.
    Also, if the card is a WiFi card with Bluetooth, you might want to see if the Bluetooth is working and try the wifi after disabling the Bluetooth.
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes since it is isolated to that device alone then I would try updated drivers and if you have a spare HDD I would do a full format on that drive and install windows again to rule out issues with your current install.
     
    Melvis says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    845 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Or just try a linux live cd. Quicker and easier (for this case anyway.)
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  25. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,613 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    965
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    I've seen a number of complex solutions here, but I may have a simple answer. Is everything checked in internet options?
    Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network Connections > Properties > Networking

    I've seen people accidentally uncheck various boxes in this menu, and lose internet completely. The communication and connection to the network is good, but no data can be exchanged. Assuming this is the case, the wired ethernet should have all or nearly all items checked.

    If this isn't the case, and a reboot to the router doesn't resolve the issue, you're probably down a wireless card. It'll only take a $5 usb to wifi dongle to check.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page