1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cant find BSOD code

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ex_reven, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Apparently the Stop code for the BSOD im getting doesnt exist... according to google and MS anyway.

    Any ideas on how else I can diagnose the problem?
    Its not a hardware problem, as im on XP atm stable for 6 hours without a BSOD. Vista has been randomly blue screening over the last two days, even when doing nothing. As usual Im lead to believe its a driver problem, drivers being the assholes that they are lol...
     
  2. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,708 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    have you install any programs or hardware sincebefore the problem started
     
  3. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Nope. Thats the thing that confuses me. Unless a driver got corrupted randomly, theres no reason for it to bluescreen. All the hardware works. I can game, music, video, watch tv, use the internet. Itll just bluescreen shortly after. Averages about 10-15 minutes before the bluescreen kicks in.
     
  4. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    See if you can run stable in safe mode. If so, probably driver. If not, then hardware problem.

    Suggest:

    Relax your memory timings.
     
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    go to start--> run and type in cmd and hit enter
    then type in:

    PHP:
    chkdsk /
    you may need to restart if your disk is locked. this should fix any corrupted files and everything. use ccleaner in conjunction with this to fix registry issues. and then if all else fails, try safe mode, it may be a corrupted driver.

    and of course, you've virus scanned and all correct?
     
  6. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Ill run in safe mode.

    Memory timings are stock.

    Will the check disk work from xp. Or do i have to be in vista to check a vista based install?
     
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    it does the whole hdd.
     
  8. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page