1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't Get 250 fps in COD4

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by wakeenaushad, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    lol every one in my clan runs all low settings @ a still (frozen) 250 FPS

    and we got core i7's amd x6's and AMD 9xx's CPU's, with 6xxx and 58xx cards lol

    i find it much easier to see people, and having a solid 250FPS is always nice ^_^
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Back in the early CoD days (CoD1/Uo Expansion) some people used to run the game in completely low settings because It allowed them to see through bushes and hence see people who were using it as cover and kill them. it was mainly used by people who were involved in clan vs clan games but there were still people that used that tactic outside of clan games and it became a heavily debated topic among the CoD crowd and it is general consensus that degrading your graphics so you can shoot through bushes is frowned upon as its an unfair playing field yadayadayada....

    but who cares - All i ever needed was a Jeep in CoD1/UO to win the game.
     
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    When that mentality was applied in CoD4 most clan servers would kick people for having their settings that low. One of our members had a really bad spec'd rig and would get booted from matches because of it. He eventually upgraded his machine and lived happily ever after.... until we all stopped playing it as it sucked ass.
     
  4. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    lmao, i dont think their are any bushes in promod, but yes we lower our settings so all the shadows and all they eye candy lights dont affect the textures of the soldier lol

    trust me, i can run this game maxed with no problems, but i have a advantage when it comes to ppl who run it max, and the color is got in game, the soldier pops out more... idk every one has their own cup of tea :)
     
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    how dare you!!! MW1 never sucked ass!! I never slept for the first 2 weeks of its release!!
     
  6. seensoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello friends,

    Seems like i have had a peep into the oldest memory of some of the members here unintentionally :) but for some this game has been a routine since the day it was released.

    Coming toward my petty issue with my fps, i still have it :)

    The last step I took was the change of my mother board from Asus P7p55 lx to Intel Dp55wg even against the advises of most of my friend. I am still unsure of the board's performance as I don't have any nearby mode to have it in sli or any such thing but i really have had enough with this Card so my next step would probably to downgrade my video card to Nvidia again. Anything like Gtx460 or 570. The later one seems to be a bit out of budget currently so I may opt 460.

    I am still downloading the enterprise version of the Win7 professional 64bit as it offer a 90 days trial version. Lets see how far would that take me to.

    Another thing, I have only 2GB of Kingston 1333 ram. Would that be causing any problem? But I remember using 2 GB Ddr2 ram with my C2duo, never had any issue with the fps. Took a lot of your time, will report further once I have the windows installed.

    Regards
     
  7. seensoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just installed Win 7 Professional 64 bit and know what,

    The damn Catalyst Manager is now WORKING!!!

    lol, anyways I hope that if its working then I might be able to squeeze all that this Gpu can offer. So now its confirmed that Win XP is not only updated but too lazy to do the maths itself. All the gamers have to give a green to Win7. I am getting just static fps of 250 now. And...

    I installed the most recent version of drivers, 11.1 or so.

    Special thanks to all the friends who tried to help me out with this situation.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    kinda reminds me of CS:S, I'd lower the settings so the flashbangs wouldn't blind me as bad on my CRT lol., and in CS 1.6 i'd run in software mode. in software mode for w/e reason when someone was on a mic it would show a speaker icon above them lol, made it easy to find the ones camping and chatting behind crates.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  9. shookuup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Nobody seems to even to know why you want 250 fps. Lol this made me laugh so hard.

    At 125 fps and 250 fps you jump differently. You set commands to switch in between them to do a special kind of jump called bounce jumping. One allows you to jump further and one allows you to jump higher. Really skilled cod players know all about this because it allows you to get in tactical positions and over certain obstacles faster for high speed map routing. So if you're a serious cod player not getting 250 fps is a bit of a problem. Don't talk about what the eye can and not see. It doesn't matter the fps effects the jump ability of the game. Also anyone who has ever played cod 4 for an hour can drastically notice a difference between 60 fps and 125 fps and it tends to effect your game play. Also some like to play on 250 fps just standard because they play better overall with it. But when it comes down to it 125 fps is the golden standard for cod 4 and if you don't know that you are most likely high level cod player.
     
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    I think these days a yr later from the last post most people are more then likely getting 450fps :laugh:
     
  11. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,026 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Lol.
     
  12. shookuup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I know i'm late.

    Obviously this is late but nobody seemed to have any knowledge of why the fps for the game was so important.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    The FPS are so important because they allow you to cheat in the game got it.
     
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I've seen other games react differently when the frame rate goes very high, as well. It can make playing speed erratic sometimes and alter the dynamics subtly, too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page