1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

can't get gpu-z to run as stand-alone or install

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by 96halx, Jun 27, 2014.

  1. 96halx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I'm trying to get gpu-z to run on my system (windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit, nvidia 8600gts, driver is 9.18.13.3788), but when I try to run it, with or without installing it, I get a failure screen from windows with this as the message:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: GPU-Z.exe
    Application Version: 0.6.5.0
    Application Timestamp: 50884db0
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_4f5a
    Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16385
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4a5bdadb
    Exception Code: c0000374
    Exception Offset: 000c283b
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 4f5a
    Additional Information 2: 4f5afd125f86900c115191ab67118b1f
    Additional Information 3: 14ef
    Additional Information 4: 14efd850763de8fe98a5414883125ef3

    I've tried this with 0.7.8, 0.7.7, and 0.6.5.0, and get the same screen every time. Any ideas?
     
  2. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,577 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    612
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Does the log have any events for say, your firewall? Could it be blocking it? Since it's so many versions it's worth investigating. Have you gotten it to run before?

    And welcome to TPU!
     
  3. 96halx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not seeing anything that could be related to the firewall, but I can't say that that is my forte, either. The splash screen comes up, and while it's still there, a screen pops up and says "video card information utility has stopped working". Tried downloading from a different source, just in case, but that didn't help any. if there's anything in particular I can/need to check, I'm all ears.

    Thanks for the welcome, by the way :)
     
  4. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,577 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    612
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Yeah, I honestly just took a stab in the dark on firewall, since that's been my problem when a program won't run and has an appcrash event. The pop up screen message is interesting though. It's like it can't read the card. Maybe try and reinstall the driver?
     
  5. 96halx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That's kinda the direction I'm leaning. I installed the Cuda toolkit and everything, and it came with a driver in case you didn't already have a "standalone" driver. I went ahead and let it install the driver along with the rest of the package, which is 9.blahblahblah see above; but the regular nvidia drivers are more along the 5xx.blahblahblah (not saying it's and OOOOLD driver or anything, it's dated 5/19/2014).

    Might try installing new driver and see if the Cuda works with it AND lets me use gpu-z.

    Thanks for the brain-pickin' session, I'll get back with whether or not it works
     
  6. 96halx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually, it doesn't seem to be a driver issue :(. I can't figure it out :confused:
     
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,012 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,879
    Do you have an instant messenger or skype ? Add me.
     
  8. 96halx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey W1zzard, I have skype; sent you a request there
     
  9. Kyprus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. At first I thought it might be the drivers but I tried three different versions and it didn't make a difference. Let me know if you want to IM W1zzard.
     
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,012 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,879
    which card?
     
  11. Kyprus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2 GTX 670s in SLI
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,012 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,879
    Found an old 8600 GTS in one of my drawers .. it runs GPU-Z just fine on Windows 7 64-bit, using teh same driver

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Kyprus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm on Windows 8.1 btw. My setup has always worked in the past. Something must have happened recently though ( I don't know what), and it stopped working. Besides reinstalling my OS I don't what what else to try at this point.
     
  14. ozob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    SOLVED (for me at least) by:

    1. right click gpu-z.exe icon
    2. select propetries
    3. select compatibility tab
    4. set compatibility to Windows 7 (+ administrator rights)

    System: Windows 7 Pro 64bit with EVGA 750ti sc.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page