1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't get my head round all this new nvidia stuff

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by DrPepper, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Ok I'm a bit confused about all the new hybrid sli :confused:can someone explain what it allows me to do and what I need to do it, also with hybrid sli will that mean I could have my 8800gt and a 8600 with the 86 doing physX and 88 doing the graphics.
     
  2. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    from wiki: Currently, the hybrid SLI for desktop platform only supports GeForce 8500 GT to be paired with nForce 700 series chipsets and GeForce 8400 GS graphics cards with GeForce Boost feature only. Also, another feature, the HybridPower, is not supported for the nForce 730a.[14]

    if you have a 8500GT and the proper chipset you can enable Hybrid SLI so that the IGP can assist in 2D Applications like Web Browsing saving energy.

    - Christine
     
    DrPepper says thanks.
  3. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    ahh ok thanks do you think they will expand on that.
     
  4. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    probably :)

    - Christine
     
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I noticed nvidia have been going over their drivers and got fah working and nvidia physX working just wondering if I can use it on anything.
     
  6. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    Ageia PhysX and CUDA PhysX are only supported by the Geforce 280, 260 and 9800GTX right now they plan to expand support for the Geforce 8 Series, be patient.

    - Christine
     
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I was playing about with it all last night and got it all working :) I can use the demo's etc and everything is recognised properly.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)