1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cant get my mic to work on new soundcard

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Sep 8, 2008.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    hey guys.

    I just got the Auzentech X-fi Prelude on my system and I can't get my damn mic to work.

    I use a headset to use a mic but I can't get it working no matter what slot I put it in.

    What on earth have I done wrong? What can I do to make it work?????
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Obvious question, but did you look at properties under the master volume control and:

    • Make sure the correct audio device is selected for recording
    • Make sure it's not muted :)
  3. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    In recording I see " Microphone " It says its currently unavailable??????
  4. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    disable azalia codec on bios (Onboard audio - Codec chip Realtek ALC888)
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2008
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,174 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    When i had my x-fail i could never get the mic to work on vista.I use onboard now till i can afford a asus xonar.
  6. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I don't see azalia codec in the BIOS?
    I turned onboard audio off.

    I have tried all the settings and my mic still is not working.
  7. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    P35 Neo2-F azalia(hd audio controller)
    [​IMG]
  8. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,451 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Ive found that if you are trying to use the mic port on teh sound card and have the front headphone/sound ports plugged in on teh front of the case, the mic will not work.
  9. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    after googled it's Known Bug.Windows Vista (32bit)Default value mutes the MIC in all modes.
    install new driver


    little plagia
    "Uninstall the current driver(s)
    Go to ‘Start > Programs > Control Panel > Add or Remove programs
    Uninstall the ‘Alchemy Driver’
    Uninstall the ‘Dolby Digital Live Pack’
    Uninstall the ‘Auzen X-Fi Prelude’
    Reboot the PC
    Browse to the new driver folder > Audio > Setup, then use ‘setup.exe’ to install
    For messages that appear during installation, click ‘Continue’, ‘Yes’ or ‘OK’
    Reboot your PC after completing the installation."
    http://www.auzentech.com/site/products/x-fi_prelude.php
  10. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I have the green and pink ones in the sound card but I can hear everything fine.

    People can hear me blow into the mic so it seems like my mic is super low?? Although all the settings have it maxed out. What can I do to turn it up?
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    OMG!!!! i just had that same problem just now!!! ok here is what i did it said currently unavailable i was like WTF? so i have a 5-1 system so for my 5-1 system i have a green tip i plug it into the green slot a yellow and a black all go into their consecutive colors but i have another on my card blue and i plugged the mic into that and whalla all go
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  12. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I will have to try that!
  13. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    WOOOOOOOOOOW thank you!! works!!
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    you betchya dude a gamer cannot be without his mic
  15. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    oh god! I have another problem.

    How do I set it so I can't actually hear myself on my own speakers????? I have no idea how to do it on the new prelude settings!! can you help me please?
  16. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Sorry never mind I got it sorted!
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    excellent well i guess nvm

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page