1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cant get wine to work ubuntu 9.10

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by tommywakefield08, Oct 18, 2009.

1. tommywakefield08

tommywakefield08 New Member

Thanks Received:
    i am new to linx ive tried it before with the 8.10 release but i dont want to give up this time. ive installed the ubuntu 9.10 on my hp mini 1000 and for the life of me i ether cant figure out how to use wine or i cant get it to install correctly. please help!!!!!!!!

2. Frick

Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

Thanks Received:
    Read the docs carefully. And don't install via Aptitude, they have old versions of Wine (at least the last time I tried that).

tommywakefield08 says thanks.
  3. [Ion]

[Ion] WCG Team Assistant

Thanks Received:
    I believe you want to do this (at least that is how I've installed wine in the past):
    Code:
    apt-get update
    Code:
    apt-get install wine 

Crunching for Team TPU
  4. blobster21

blobster21

Thanks Received:
    i've had the same problem in the past, wine simply wouldn't start, either from the gnome menu or via a terminal command. infortunately I can't remember having this issue solved....

1/You might want to desinstall your current installed version and restart from scratch

2/Edit your sourcelist and add the following Ubuntu Wine Team PPA to your update sources

3/Add the following signing key so that the above PPA becomes a trusted update place

4/Refresh your sourcelist

5/Get the latest version of wine

By the way, 9.10 is stil in a beta stage at the time you wrote your message isn't it ?

5. tommywakefield08

Thanks Received: