1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't install driver (Tried Everything)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ELiTRiGG3R, May 22, 2014.

  1. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    GPU : GTX 650- TI BOOST...Tired the guide in techpowerup, used ddu, driver sweeper, manually deleted prefectch, temp, nvidia folders in program files and x86..deleted registry nvidia..Please help ASAP..the driver is 337.5
     
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,105 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Location:
    Hide and Seek,
    what OS? Win7 or Win8/8.1?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    Win 7
     
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,105 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Location:
    Hide and Seek,
    u have tried power cables to the gfx and tried to take it out and put it back into the motherboard?

    maybe try starting up Windows 7 so u can install "non-signatured" driver.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    anything? I previous driver was 334 whql

    test mode is always on as I sometimes use monect and virtual wheel..and the power connector comes directly from the PSU
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2014
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,105 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Location:
    Hide and Seek,
    hmm, i am not sure if it could be test mode then, bcs i never had a problem installing a Nvidia driver when having a Nvidia gfx.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    what should I do..
     
  8. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,906 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,772
    what happens when an install is attempted?
     
  9. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    When it is about 1/4 or 1/5 done, it stops and nothing is installed and in the column thingy, it says that graphics driver install has failed..

    it fails within 10-20 sec

    ALso tried Device manager install, not working

    can't even install the old drivers
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2014
  10. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    use edit button, try not to double and tripple post

    boot to windows safemode; run DDU
    reboot [allow windows to install generic vga driver]
    reboot
    install last working driver

    atb

    Law-II
     
    ELiTRiGG3R says thanks.
  11. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,906 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,772
    That is an odd one.

    I'd try launching a (admin) command prompt and typing the following:

    set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1

    start devmgmt.msc

    Once you've done that, tell it to show "hidden devices" in the view menu of the resulting device manager.

    Under the display adapters tree, what is shown? If you see a buncha non-existant video cards, I'd try uninstalling each one and then try what was just posted above.
     
    ELiTRiGG3R and Law-II say thanks.
  12. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    not working

    alright, the display adapter trees down't exist, in monitors, the is generic pnp monitor and in other devices, there is display with yellow triangle when I try to scan for hardware changes, it starts to download 214mb, should i try that..I have a slow connection..
     
  13. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,906 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,772
    Yes, I'd try that at least for starters.
     
  14. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    alright now it shows, standard display vga ...in display adapter..any tips?
     
  15. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,906 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,772
    Try installing the nvidia drivers now? That's the point you should've been at first.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,869 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,650
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Sounds about right. Usually you can right click devices and scan for hardware changes. This will force a generic windows driver onto the GPU hardware and then your NVidia drivers will be able to detect a card in device manager and install the correct driver.
    It's because you sweeped the PC of drivers, evidently your windows is set to not automatically install generic display drivers for some reason.
     
    ELiTRiGG3R says thanks.
  17. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    Tried installing after standard vga, again failed...when I updated the driver software from standard vga, it started a download..

    even the geforce experience installed but doesn't start up...just converts into a white window and the aspect ratio of the screen is not right also, it is 4;3
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2014
  18. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,869 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,650
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I'm beginning to wonder if you manually deleted something in the first place you shouldn't have. This could be a Win7 reinstall job on your hands.

    Just ensure it's in the slot properly and what not.
     
  19. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,352 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,239
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Do you have a driver disk for your monitor?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    even the previous time downloading driver from site, didn't work, I had to use geforce experience

    yeah, trying it now..

    EDIT: the cd doESn't have a exe file...tryin to install through driver manager..not working
    NOT WORKING
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2014
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,985 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,156
    I just want to chime in and make sure that you did disable the iGPU...
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    It was one of the first things tht I did when I got the pc..alright will check again in Bios, so is a fresh Win 7 only solution...
     
  23. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,869 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,650
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    What specifically did you delete from your folders and registry? More importantly WHY did you delete those things. The only real reason to do a driver sweep is if you're changing from AMD to NVidia or vice versa. In all other situations, just allow GeForce experience to download the driver and install over the top of you old one. There is a check box called "clean installation", tick that and it will tidy things for you.
     
    ELiTRiGG3R says thanks.
  24. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    I downloaded the driver from nvidia's site when the old one was installed, when I tried t install it, it firstly uninstalled the driver and restarted then when it tried to install, it failed..
     
  25. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,869 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,650
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Tried the GPU in a different PCI-E slot? Also, just for my own sanity, you chose the right OS version and everything right?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)