1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cant knock this one down

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by The_Real_DeaL31, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. The_Real_DeaL31 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    692 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    canada
    hi all I've been trying to get my second system running back to normal, i rma my m2n sli deluxe cause of a faulty Nvidia memory controller, when they shipped it back to me, fed ex sent it to the wrong address in California, which i live in Canada, naturally they shipped my another board a week later, turns out when i tried the board out i got the same error codebug_usb_driver i wasn't happy so i shipped it back to them, asus was nice enough to pay for crossing shipping, less then a week later, what do u know i got the same error, first i thought it was memory or i have other faulty hardware, not knowing i caused my own problem i flash the bios to 1701, so i reverted back to 1502, all my problems went away, expect for my amd 5000 x2 making high pitch sound when i move the mouse or run a intensive cpu test or even on facebook, the sound gets annoying, so my first thought was the nvidia memory controller must of damage my cpu too, so i went out and bought a cheapo amd 2400be 2.3ghz, still the sound remains, at first when i put the new cpu in the sound wasn't to bad, but now its just as load, also i replace my old Seagate 120gb sata, for a seagate 500gb sata II 7200.12 16mb, also my benchmarks scores, are not up to par from what i was normally getting with my original board, and thats with this new cpu which overclocks alot higher at 3.2ghz, compared to 3.1ghz with amd 5000, i need hand hear peeps thanks, hears my system specs

    m2n-sli deluxe bios 1502
    Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 2.3ghz. oc 3.2ghz 1.5v with arctic freezer pro 64
    4gb kit Ozc gold txc pc6400
    evga ssc 8800gt 512mb
    corsiar vx 550watt 41 amps one 12rail
    acer 20 widescreen
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,299 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,828
    so are you wondering why the noise?
  3. The_Real_DeaL31 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    692 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    canada
    exactly, sorry for the long post btw
  4. The_Real_DeaL31 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    692 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    canada
    could it be vrm's near cpu ?
  5. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,905 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Hey man my 5000+ BE does the same thing on my Biostar board and wondered why. the board fried and now awaiting my 8600GTS to arrived to see if it happens on my Abit AN52. Ive heard of AMD chips doin this somewhere else too.....
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,299 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,828
    Its usually an occelation of either motherboard components or components of the PSU. Take a paper towel roll and hold it to your ear and try to isolate it better. then look really closely for damage. if there isnt any damage dont worry, its just a bit of noise that happens even on the Intel set up I have.
  7. The_Real_DeaL31 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    692 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    canada
    i know its not psu, i put my back up asus a8v deluxe in, to hold me off tell my m2n sli deluxe came back from rma, i had all the same components hooked up, expect for ram and motherboard and cpu, everything ran nice and quite, so i know for a fact its motherboard related
  8. TheCrow

    TheCrow New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    399 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    I get the same occasionally, i dont think it's anything to worry about. I read somewhere it was probably just a cap whinning?
  9. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,905 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    I think you may be right as one of the caps on my Biostar board is swollen and then nothing starts up next day.......with a melted PSU cabling..... But PSU is STILL running at full voltages lol
  10. The_Real_DeaL31 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    692 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    canada
    it gets worse i was playing gta iv and bf2, they keeping crashing or restarting pc, so i back down my overclock, still does the same, could this be cause my psu is showing 3.20v is everest, or bad dimms, i havent ran memtest x86 yet, and no taz caps look normal to me, but it feels like this board is losing is stability, and getting hotter then normal too
  11. The_Real_DeaL31 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    692 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    canada
    gonna check bios for 3.3v, and run memtest or swapped my dimms with my other set, if not its going back to asus again

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page