1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't log on to windows

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Canuto, Nov 26, 2006.

  1. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Basically every time i start my session windows terminates it without even getting to the desktop.

    I can only come here trough security mode, I've tried a system restore but didn't work,

    This happens after i made a Sciencemark 2 run and disabled some services but only the AV services so i'm really confused here :confused:

    Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks :)
  2. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Come on, i don't want to format :(

    I'm running a virus scan and a spyware scan now let's see if that' it....

    And pardon me if i'm being impatient :)
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    cant you go into safe mode and reset the services or something.i wish i could help you but i'm not really a windows guru,i think you need alecstarr.
  4. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thanks tigger :) i can only log on in safe mode that's how i'm posting right now.

    That's why i'm asking, i'm a newb to this stuff :(

    And Alec isn't here :cry:
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    can you do a restore to an earlier point with system restore?
  6. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    My anti-spyware found this suspicious file "drvinst64.exe" let's see if that was it...
  7. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    I already have but didn't work :shadedshu
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i'm sorry m8,i'm all out of ideas.:banghead:
  9. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Nop the problem persists :banghead:

    Thanks anyway tigger intention is what matters most :)
  10. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    try to reload windows....now you dont have to reformat or loose your files in doing this...as u set up to install windows your pc will first look to see if windows is installed, it will find it and ask what you want to do...you want to reinstall/repair..this will reinstall all needed files for windows to work, but it will start back up with default settings....your files should be ok tho...

    i only offer this as a last resort...good luck to ya...:rockout:
  11. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    'I can only come here trough security mode?'

    Erm, did , you mean safe mode by that?

    Try uninstalling the AV proggy that the services were related to. Also try a registry patch to restore default system services, because maybe you made some mistake in picking the ones to disable there.

    Hopefully you won't be doing a repair install off the CD, but if you need to backup files, that might be the best option before a full reinstall - repaired OS installs are slower then base one.
  12. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    ...I guess I learned something today :p.
  13. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    lol!
  14. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Erm... sorry for my newbshiness but how do i do that?

    Back there yeah i meant Safe mode :p

    :)
  15. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Sites with services tweak guides used to carry those sort of register files.

    You might try http://www.clean-xp.net/ 'cause it seems to do something along those lines.

    It's a bit hard to actually recommend how to do that, 'cause I don't know if you'll end up pointing your bootloader at x: drive or deleting your password hashes or something by running some dodgy third party file
  16. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Alec§star is back :eek: :eek:

    Please man come here and help me out :)

    PS-> i hope you had a good thanksgiving Alec ;)
  17. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    This windows "thing" is making me :cry:

    Damn f*ck it I'll just format and reinstall as soon as i get from school tomorrow...
  18. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Sorry for delay first of all, & missing this thread period - I was not online for nearly a week, due to holiday travels/vacation:

    Secondly - Humor me, & READ THIS CLOSELY + pay attention to its details (we are going to go @ this from the 'basics', onwards):

    1.) Turn the services you disabled ON again... whatever ones those are, first. You mentioned doing that above.

    2.) THEN, get out MSConfig & run it...

    (Leave MsConfig's services sections ALONE above all else @ this point - by that I mean, do NOT disable services now, & re-enable ANY you turned off, again, since you mention having done that above...)

    3.) LASTLY, when the above 2 are done? Then, go after ANY of the registry "RUN" & startup group areas possible!

    (I am NOT sure if MsConfig covers ALL of them possible is why I state that, & if you look @ the lists below? It may not, but I am FAIRLY SURE the list below IS absolutely comprehensive!)

    * For your reference, for using regedit.exe, to prune the registry "RUN" areas, they are as follows:

    ========================

    <Prior to Logon Prompt>

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServicesOnce

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    -------------------------------

    <Logon Prompt>

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    StartUp Folders (BOTH the COMMON TO ALL USERS type & CURRENT USER only folder type)

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

    ========================

    <SPECIAL STARTUP POSSIBLE AREAS NOT LISTED ABOVE>

    A.) Explorer.exe app launching (not a lot of folks know this one)

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    "Shell"="Explorer.exe EXAMPLE OF A MALICIOUS SPYWAREMALWARE STARTED BY EXPLORER.exe"

    (This last one above, with the SHELL line? It is an example of apps that can be 'kicked off' by EXPLORER.EXE itself as it starts... it IS a possibility & an area spyware/malware CAN hide in - ALL THAT SHOULD BE THERE IS EXPLORER.EXE & NO OTHER APPNAMES AFTER THAT!)

    B.) There is also an area in the registry that has an entry called UserInit.exe that can also startup apps & scripts also EDIT PART - It IS the same as the last area (winlogon) that I noted above:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

    PAY ATTENTION TO THE USERINIT VALUE for this one!

    C.) Also, be aware that C:\autoexec.bat can be parsed as well during startups, & may contain launch of program information, plus on networks logon scripts can do the same & are often housed in .bat or .cmd files...

    D.) It may be in the System.INI OR Win.INI files in the Windows section in a Run= or
    Load= lines they may have (win.ini only iirc but check both anyhow), but doubtful... still, do LOOK there as well, IF this is a spyware/malware thing!

    APK

    P.S.=> A good antivirus & antispyware scan cannot hurt (make SURE both have their "signatures" updated current) as well!

    Now, I am not "110% absolutely sure" if you can run many of these WITHOUT being in "normal mode"... resident scanning I am fairly certain you can't, but manual scans MAY be possible (especially w/ antivir programs, antispyware progs SHOULD run in safe or normal mode no problem)... apk
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2006
  19. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    I finally made it in here, & that is the procedure I would use above... it is a LOT to look @, so have at it & good luck!

    :)

    APK

    P.S.=> I did have an excellent vacation! Thank you... apk
  20. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thank you all people for trying to help :)

    I did everything in your guide Alec but still not working :(

    I'll format and reinstall windows, it's ok i only have 25GB of stuff stored and it's all backed up ;)
  21. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    It's "good review" & on a 'tricky' subject, what w/ all the "malware" & virus' out there
    nowadays... good problem's to try to solve.

    Ah, too bad... whatever's "got you" there? Has got you but good... sorry it did not work out for you man.

    It makes sense to look @ those areas, but it doesn't ALWAYS solve things... especially w/ virus' like W32Pinfi (couldn't fix that years ago for my nephew, the damn thing's astounding)... & ones that infect your .exe's on your disk & AntiVirus' + removal tools can't "pull them" either!

    Ah, I love it - a guy that believes in & does regular backups... you'll never be in trouble because of that, not really!

    :)

    APK

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page