1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't OC Past 3.48GHz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by James1991, Aug 12, 2007.

  1. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    I have an ECS RC410-M2 MOBO with a Pentium 4 HT 3.0GHz processor and a ICS 951413 Clock generator. i can get the cpu to 3.48GHz but any higher the system just freezes and resets it's self. is this because i haven't raised the voltage? if it is how can i raise the voltage without using the bios because my bios has no overclocking features in it.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,525 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,922
    Can't do it. Consider yourself lucky with that overclock.
  3. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    I've gotten a P4 HT 3.4 to 4 stable before, but it needed like freakin 1.7v and got uber hot on air, 3.9 on a day to day basis.
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    as erocker said, itll be vary hard to do if not impossible. Might try looking for a gui program to software oc it and mess with voltages. Something like what Abit has.
  5. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Abit's software is proprietary, it only works with their motherboards and even then only on specific models. There is no program that will let you adjust voltages if your motherboard doesn't support it.
  6. JUDAS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    345 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    suffolk uk
    consider yourself lucky with that board - they are not the best..........
  7. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,641 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yep, ECS's boards mostly aren't made for mad OC-ing, they allow for some OC within tight constraints. My Dad had an ECS board till I bought him an Asus and OC-d the piss out of his system!

    I got a P4 630 up to 4.0 before, but my air cooling couldn't handle it at 1.5v. I could hit 3.7 at 1.45, and 3.6 and stock voltage. That stuff is in my G/F's PC now, I love my C2D setup, it was worth every penny then and it's a great deal now! If you really wanna OC, get better equipment and please read my guide (Link in Sig) to better understand the method of OC-ing and what you should prepare and watch out for. :toast:
  8. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    thanks for that everyone, ill have to get a different mobo one day the
  9. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    A whole new system would do you better. Most IGP Mobos have a barely satisfactory overclocking potential. Now don't shun me for trying to god you into buying a new system but these parts would completely destroy what you have now:

    -Core 2 Duo E4500 (Overclocking happy, 11x Multi)
    -Gigabyte GA 965P DS3 Rev 3.3 (This mobo is a classic...)
    -MSI X1950PRO

    Yes and It would only cost around $500 for that stuff. With what you have you cant really do anything...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page