1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't read the BIOS

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by blizz, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. blizz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    it is my first post on this board, so I'd like to say hello everybody.

    And my problem is with all gpu-z version, I can't read BIOS, because I get this warning: "BIOS reading is not supported on this device", I also tried with nibitor, ale the results are the same:(

    Maybe somebody has the answer and helps me solve it.

    Thanks.
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,834
    A little more information could be very helpful.

    What type of card are we playing with?
     
  3. blizz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sory for double post:)
    As I wrote there, it is samsung r560 with gf 9600gt gddr3.
     
  4. blizz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No idea? :(
    Yesterday I also tried to dump BIOS by the newest(5.72) nvflash from dos shell, but I got "EEPROM IS NOT SUPPORTED" :-/ As I remeber on linux OS in nvidia setting menu I could see version of video bios, but there I don't have tools to dump it to file. Why on windows can't see even version of it?

    Sorry for my mistakes.
     
  5. gpuz09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Me too, mine info is:

    [​IMG]

    Any idea on how to read BIOS?
     
  6. gpuz09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :confused: I need to read BIOS too.
     
  7. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Maybe you have dual bios cards. Maybe you need to use nvflash --index=1 ( the number of the bios you want to download or upload )
     
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I'm guessing cus they are mobile gpu's, they dont actually have Bios'. Dont forget most if not all the time, mobile GPU's are IGP's on the chipset, so their clock speeds/ram, etc is determined by the main system bios.
     
  9. gpuz09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, no way to apply OC?

    :wtf:
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    gpuz09 says thanks.
  11. blizz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't understand, this is gf 9600 so how the vbios can depend on main bios;/? it isn't igp integred with chipset, your theory isn't good.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page