1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't remove Norton from windows 7 HELP

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Melvis, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok i just got a new laptop in for a customer and it has Norton Symantec installed on it, (60 day trial) and i know how shit it is so ive tried to uninstall it and then install Avast. But it wont uninstall, just hangs for ages doing nothing and i cant stop it, so i have to do a restart on the comp to get it to stop force stop it. Once the computer loads back into windows its now running realy slow, it says that you have no protection and firewall is turned off. So i installed avast (took forever) and tried to turn on the windows firewall but it refuses to turn on. Still says Norton is installed just not running:confused: and IE wont run ether, this is driving me nuts, and i plan on getting this laptop to the customer tomorrow. Avast is installed but wont update, still says i have no anti virus running and i cant uninstall Norton what so ever.

    Can anyone help please?

    OS is windows 7 HP
  2. DriedFrogPills

    DriedFrogPills New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    356 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    have you tried Revo Unistaller?
    Melvis says thanks.
  3. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    No i haven't, where can i get this program from?

    I heard there is a remove tool but every link i go to its not in English
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,332 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,558
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Melvis says thanks.
  5. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    I came accross that with my lappy wich had Norton on when i got it. Ended i had to delete all Norton entries from the registry. That was a few years ago thought Norton would of improved that obviously not.
    Melvis says thanks.
  6. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Melvis says thanks.
  7. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
  8. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Jeesh! Norton really is a PITA! Might as well uninstall avast for the time being! Then uninstall Norton completely using Symantec's tool! Having two anti virus programs causes severe system instability( in my own experience!). Hope you get the tool installed bro for this was the only tool that removed my Norton Trial Version completely!;)
    Melvis and Triprift say thanks.
  9. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    +1 definitly get avast of and if you cant get Norton off with the tool then look in the registry like i said in my first post.
    neoreif says thanks.
  10. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Revo is kinda crappy. Instead delete the norton folder, then run CCleaner and finally install Win Install Clean Up , run it and select norton - which will delete all traces of it from the registry
    Melvis says thanks.
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Yep it sure is, i HATE norton more then ever now :shadedshu

    Anyway yes i did uninstall Avast asap as yes running two is bad, the tool did work but only after i rebooted the system and BAM there is norton working again :wtf:

    Anyway it all seems good now, stuff it i say and ill just leave Norton on there till they want it off i cant be F ed stuffing around with it atm since there meant to be getting it tomorrow and while its working they be happy.

    Thanks to you all for your assistance :rockout:
    neoreif says thanks.
  12. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Your welcome and good luck seems Nortons is even harder to get rid the a few years a go cheeky mongrels. :shadedshu
  13. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Damn Norton! It was meant to remove pesky viruses and trojans! Now it seems it has evolved into something like what it was meant to solve! :mad:

    Have tried turning off system restore before running the removal tool from Symantec as it might revert your system back to the previous point where norton is still installed? Just a hunch though but maybe worth trying?:D
  14. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,550 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Mmmm i know, i used Norton 5yrs ago, but now ill never touch it again.

    Yea good point i could of tried that, but Meh while its running fine im not touching it, ill sell it to the owners this Thursday and get the $$$$ Not that ill make much on it =/
  15. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Good point though! He he! Cheers! :toast:
  16. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    For a home/personal system there is simply no need to pay for an AV solution.
    The free ones do a very good job (AVG, MSE, etc.)

    On my corporate network it is a different story. I run the latest Symantec End Point Protection.
    It works very well.
    I ran Symantec Corporate Edition 9 & 10 for years and I can count on one hand the number of things that slipped though, and they were ALL due to the users allowing something they should not have.
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,848 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    Location:
    US
    Same ol crap i had it on mine here had a few other crapware apps with it so i just formatted the laptop and reinstalled. Problem 100% solved and saves messing around :).
  18. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Mine would of been an angry phone call to Synamtec but yeah reformat would work.
  19. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    AVG needs a similar tool to Norton's to uninstall itself.
  20. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,814 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    They do, AVG Remover
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,328 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    746
    had you tried to run the so called "Norton Removal Tool" in Safe mode? or maybe tried uninstall Norton with Your Uninstaller! ?
  22. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,519 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,043
    all I did for my Lenovo lappy was boot to safe mode, uninstal, reboot. Then rebooted in safemode, start>search>Norton, deleted what came up, then cleaned my temp file and recycle bin.

    Avast has run smooth since day one;)
    blkhogan says thanks.
  23. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
  24. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Exactly what I had to do on my Dell laptop. Nortons is famous for taking systems over and not wanting to let go.
  25. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    613
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Same experience here on friend's machine. Used similar procedure: safemode, clean registry, temp files, restart. Installed what he wanted to use.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page